Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language resources available in our library
501 French Verbs by The new, updated edition of this popular book of French verbs and general language guide is now printed in two colors for increased ease of reference. The most important and most commonly used French verbs are presented alphabetically in chart form, one verb per page, and conjugated in all persons and tenses, both active and passive. This thorough guide to the use of verbs features many additional references and tips, including a bilingual list of more than 1,250 additional French verbs, helpful expressions and idioms for travelers, and verb drills and tests with questions answered and explained. French language students will also find an index of English-French verbs, a section on verbs used in French idiomatic expressions, and more than 1,000 additional French regular verbs conjugated like the book's model verbs.
French-English Visual Dictionary by 28,000 terms illustrated with 4,800 colorful pictures. The Firefly French/English Visual Dictionary is an unparalleled reference to the world around us and an indispensable tool for language education. Its 4,800 full-color illustrations show what other dictionaries can only describe in black-and-white text. From the parts of a honeybee to the parts of a bulldozer, the scope and depth are immense. There are 28,000 terms and phrases revealed in detailed lifelike illustrations that make identification quick and accurate. French terms are identified by gender, and two indexes make it fast and easy to find a term in either language. The 600 subjects are organized into 17 color-coded sections: Astronomy House Earth Clothing Vegetable kingdom Arts and architecture Animal kingdom Communications and office automation Human being Food and kitchen Transport and machinery Do-it-yourself and gardening Energy Science Personal Adornment and articles Society Sports and games. This reference is perfect for school, work or travel. For anyone learning French or English as a second language, The Firefly French/English Visual Dictionary is fun, accurate, easy and fast.
Travel Books from our collection
Montreal and Quebec City by Written by locals, Fodor's travel guides have been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for 80 years. Montréal and Québec City are treasured destinations for American travelers: a corner of France in North America. This guide, with rich color photographs throughout, captures the French-speaking cities' universal appeal, from sidewalk cafés to winter sports and traditional French cuisine.This travel guide includes:· Dozens of full-color maps plus a handy pullout map with essential information· Hundreds of hotel and restaurant recommendations, with Fodor's Choice designating our top picks· Multiple itineraries to explore the top attractions and what's off the beaten path· Major sights such as Basilique Notre-Dame-de-Montreal, Parc du Mont-Royal, Mont-Tremblant, Musee des Beaux-Arts de Montreal, The Old Port, La Citadelle, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Tadoussac, and Plains of Abraham· Side Trips from Montreal including The Laurentians, The Outaouais, and The Eastern Townships· Side Trips from Quebec City including Cote-de-Beaupre, Ile d'Orleans, and Charlevoix· Coverage of Old Montreal and the Lachine Canal; Downtown and Chinatown; The Latin Quarter and the Village; The Plateau, Outremont, Mile End and Little Italy; Parc du Mont-Royal; Cote-des-Neiges; Hochelaga-Maisonneuve; The Islands; Quebec City Upper Town; Quebec City Lower Town and Quebec City Old City
Tahiti and French Polynesia Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Tahiti & French Polynesiais your passport to all the most relevant and up-to-date advice on what to see, what to skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Sit under a warm dome of stars with a cold Hinano, mingle with grey reef sharks, or explore the atoll lagoons by boat; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Tahiti and French Polynesia and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet Tahiti & French Polynesia Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries show you the simplest way to tailor your trip to your own personal needs and interests Insider tips save you time and money and help you get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - including hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, and prices Honest reviewsfor all budgets - including eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, and hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer and more rewarding travel experience - including customs, history, art, literature, cinema, politics, landscapes, wildlife, and religion Over 40 localmaps Useful features - includingMonth-by-Month (annual festival calendar),Diving,andTravel with Children Coverage of Bora Bora, Pape'ete, the Marquesas, Rangiroa, Maupiti, Huahine, Mo'orea, the Gambier Archipelago, Teahupoo, the Papenoo Valley, Rurutu, the Australs, the Tuamotus, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet Tahiti & French Polynesia, our most comprehensive guide to Tahiti and French Polynesia, is perfect for those planning to both explore the top sights and take the road less travelled. Looking for more coverage? Check outLonely Planet's South Pacificguide for a comprehensive look at what the whole region has to offer. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Celeste Brash, and Jean-Bernard Carillet. About Lonely Planet: Started in 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel guide publisher with guidebooks to every destination on the planet, as well as an award-winning website, a suite of mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet's mission is to enable curious travellers to experience the world and to truly get to the heart of the places they find themselves in. TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards 2012 and 2013 winner in Favorite Travel Guide category 'Lonely Planet guides are, quite simply, like no other.' - New York Times 'Lonely Planet. It's on everyone's bookshelves; it's in every traveller's hands. It's on mobile phones. It's on the Internet. It's everywhere, and it's telling entire generations of people how to travel the world.' - Fairfax Media (Australia)
Online Dictionaries and Grammar Tools
If you are looking for language games and grammar practice try this website:
Looking for additional language practice? Try DUOLINGO.
Francophone Culture and Countries - Databases and Websites
CulturGrams is an online database that provides you with cultural and statitical information for all countries. It includes information on diet, history and geography.
The World Book online is a great place to begin your research. For this assignment, use the French language version, L'Encyclopédie Découverte.
LibGuides for French classes