Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Heights Secondary Learning Commons Homepage: Home

Welcome to our Virtual Learning Commons

 

Our virtual space is open 24/7

We are still here to support you and your learning and will be updating our pages regularly with new resources. Be sure to check out the tabs at the top of this page for resources specific to different subject areas.

CHSS Library Catalogue

Research Quick Links

When doing a research paper it is important to always cite your sources using the style your teacher has ask you to use. Style guides are available in the library. If you can't get to the library to pick one up, you can download a copy here:

 Need a more detailed version of a style sheet or just general  help with your research and citations. The Purdue University OWL is a great resource.

Need help formatting your reference list? These websites will help you:

Citation Machine

Bibme

Books Online

Looking for something new to read?  is a collection of e-books, graphic novels and audio books suitable for teen audiences.You can access this resource by clicking on the  button in the column to the right. 

Another great place for e-books is the public library. They are currently closed but if you have a library card you have access to their large collection of e-books and magazines. Check out what they have to offer here:

undefined

 

Do you like to listen to your books? During this time of school closures, Amazon's Audible has opened their catalogue to allow for free access to many of their audio books. Begin listening here:

 

 

It's Contest Time!

 

The 23rd Annual District Writing Contest is around the corner! 

The writing contest provides students with an exciting opportunity to experiment with their writing and engage in the writing process. 

Interested students from CHSS can participate in our school-wide writing competition first, with all finalists qualifying for the district contest. 

Submission deadline for our school contest is April 30. 

Students can see any English teacher, or Mrs. Gilbert in the library, for details.

Check out what's new

School District 57 e-resources

 

 

The World Book Online Reference Center is a great place to begin your research.  Don't forget to check out the links at the end of some of the articles.  They will lead you to other relevant and interesting information.

http://www.worldbookonline.com/?subacct=CD27315 

EBSCO Resource Database bundle from ERAC. Consists over a dozen databases containing full text and image search capabilities suitable for pre K - 12 research projects.

Consumer Health Complete is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer oriented health content.


CultureGrams helps researchers discover the world with concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Know BC is the most comprehensive reference resource available about BC geography, history, economics, art, forestry and First Nations.

Full-text of Prince George Newspapers from 1909-1971. Includes Fort George Tribune, Fort George Herald, Prince George Post, Prince George Herald, Prince George Star, Prince George Leader & Prince George Citizen.

Learn Now BC

 

Career Education