Bead Looming Equipment
This kit includes 15 traditional bead looms. Beads and thread must be supplied by the school. Beads and thread can be purchased in Prince George at Topaz Beads & Studio. Topaz Beads & Studio also gives an education discount.
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Art, Social Studies, Indigenous Studies.
15 Bead looms, 18 big eye beading needles in tube.
Maker Kit: Code & Go Robot Mouse Activity Set
Introduce students to the fun of coding and puzzle solving with this colorful, programmable mouse with maze! A great way to introduce young children to science, technology, engineering, and math.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Math, Science.
6 programmable robot mice (5 purple, 1 blue), 134 coding cards, 22 maze walls (purple), 1 cheese wedge, 16 maze grid pieces (green), 10 double-sided activity cards, 3 tunnels (orange), 1 Code and Go Robot Mouse activity set activity guide, 5 Code & Go Robot Mouse Activity guide, 5 weighted foam blocks.
Maker Kit: Botley the Coding Robot
Meet Botley, the code to fun! Botley is here to introduce coding in an easy, friendly way. Some of the interactive, fun features Botley offers include the ability to detect objects—and move around them!—follow looping command, navigate obstacle courses, follow black lines and even has additional hidden features to unlock! Botley teaches the basics of coding through active play, completely screen free. Perfect for promoting critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Science, Math.
1 Botley set (1 Botley the coding robot, 1 remote programmer, 1 set of robot arms, 40 coding cards, 1 coding activity guide), 1 Botley activity set (1 Botley the coding robot, 1 remote programmer, 1 set of robot arms, 40 coding cards, 6 double-sided tiles, 26 obstacle building pieces, 1 activity guide) -Obstacle building pieces: 2 cones (green, orange), 2 balls (orange, blue), 2 plastic flags (orange, blue), 12 cubes (4 blue, 4 green, 4 orange), 8 plastic connectors (4 light blue, 4 green), 1 orange disk.
Maker Kit: SumBlox Math Blocks
For budding makers and mathematicians alike, SumBlox are a way to explore the foundations of mathematics in 3 dimensions. SumBlox are a hands-on transition from concrete to semi-concrete mathematical thinking. This kit supports the Math Kindergarten big idea: one-to-one correspondence and a sense of 5 and 10 are essential for fluency with numbers, and the Grade one, addition and subtraction with numbers to 10 can be modelled concretely, pictorially, and symbollically to develop computational fluency.
Suitability: Grade K, 1.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills Technologies, Math.
2 block sets: 43 blocks each (ten 1 blocks, four each of the 2, 3 , 4, 5, 6, 7, 8,and 9, one 10 block), 1 activity card.
Maker Kit: Colour and Light: [Light Table Compatible]
Introduce students to light and color! Look through the color mixing glasses to see the world in a new and colorful way! Use the animal eye viewers to see how a shark, insect and chameleon see the world. A great way to introduce young students to colour and light.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
6 books, 10 transparent/translucent/opaque sheets (in baggie), 3 animal eye viewers (insect, shark, chameleon), 3 animal eye viewers info card (in plastic envelope), 1 pair color mixing glasses (2 blue, 2 yellow, 2 red, 2 clear "bug-eye" lenses), 2 color-changing touch squares, 32 color paddles (8 red, 8 blue, 8 yellow, 8 green), 1 lens & prism set (3 acrylic lenses, 1 acrylic prism, 1 guide), 3 color discovery tubes and instruction sheet, 2 large flashlights, 1 small flashlight, 1 Teacher information card.
All about Light by
This series introduces simple science topics using everyday objects and situations that readers can recognize in the world around them. This title looks at light: what it does, where it comes from, what materials it can pass through, shadows, reflection.
ISBN: 9781484626924Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Colourblind! for Kids by
What's it like to find out you're colourblind? Join Sam, age 10, as he gets some surprising news. Children of all ages will enjoy discovering -- Four reasons it's cool to be colourblind (pages 18-21) -- How things look to colourblind people (pages 22 -23) -- What happens when you get your eyes checked (starts on page 4) -- Secret patterns that only colourblind people can see (page 21)
ISBN: 9780993920202Publication Date: 2015-09-04
Experiments in Light and Sound with Toys and Everyday Stuff by
Engaging experiments using simple toys and everyday stuff teach curious young minds all about light and sound. Readers can take an up-close look at how sound vibrations work, what pitch is, how reflection and refraction are related, and so much more. With low-level text and step-by-step photos, connecting young readers with science concepts and supporting the Next Generation Science Standards has never been simpler!
ISBN: 9781491450338Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Eye to Eye by
From Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins comes a series of animals with unusual eyes in this eye-catching picture book! In his eye-popping work of picture book nonfiction, Jenkins explains how for most animals, eyes are the most important source of information about the world in a biological sense. The simplest eyes--clusters of light-sensitive cells--appeared more than one billion years ago, and provided a big survival advantage to the first creatures that had them. Since then, animals have evolved an amazing variety of eyes, along with often surprising ways to use them.
ISBN: 9780547959078Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Magical Experiments with Light and Color by
Fascinating scientific concepts are simplified and explored in ways that kids will enjoy in the Magic Science series. Each book presents 16 simple experiments that can be performed with common objects found around the house. Magical Experiments with Light and Color explores the nature of light through refraction, optical illusion, and more. Each experiment includes illustrated, step-by-step instructions and a simple scientific explanation of what is happening during the experiment. Full-color illustrations on each page.
ISBN: 9781438004266Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Whose Eye Am I? by
"Who am I?" ask captions alongside close-ups of colorful animal eyes. As readers guess which animal belongs to each eye, they will discover that each animal has a unique and amazing way of seeing. Snakes have clear eyelids that cannot ever open or close. Some sea creatures have hundreds of eyes around the edges of their shells. Many animals can see colors that are invisible to humans. Brimming with vivid and engaging photographs, this book also includes a clear explanation of how human eyes work, a labeled diagram of a human eye, a glossary, and an index.
ISBN: 9780823435586Publication Date: 2016-01-30
Maker Kit: Exploring Light
Allows students to explore properties and characteristics of light as well as optical illusions.
Suitability: Grade 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
7 books, 1 lumindisk (power adapter included), 8 mirrored shape blocks, 6 acrylic lenses, 2 acrylic prisms, 1 lens & prism set activity guide, 1 light crystal with guide, 12 optical illusion transparencies (13 cm x 13 cm), 2 large flashlights, 5 small flashlights.
50 Optical Illusions by
Open this book to discover some of the most eye-popping illusions ever created and find out about the secrets that make them work.
ISBN: 9781474903585Publication Date: 2015-01-01- All about Light by
This series introduces simple science topics using everyday objects and situations that readers can recognize in the world around them. This title looks at light: what it does, where it comes from, what materials it can pass through, shadows, reflection.
ISBN: 9781484626924Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Amazing Optical Illusions by
A child's introduction to the world of optical illusions. Optical illusions are a window into how the brain perceives. Part of the fun is being fully aware that you're being tricked, fooled and misled. This collection of illusions will definitely do that! Amazing Optical Illusions features thirty of the most fascinating images guaranteed to dazzle the eye and trick the mind. It includes examples of every type of optical illusion: Ground/field reversal images where one shape switches into another and back again Escher's Impossible Crate Eternal spirals and dazzling graphic patterns Enigmatic designs and hidden figures Baffling shapes that change before your eyes. The illusions are rendered in photography, artwork and the latest computer imaging. Each illusion is explained in clear language for young readers. Amazing Optical Illusions is a child's exciting introduction to the world's most startling optical illusions. It is a fascinating collection that will have all ages wondering exactly what they are seeing.
ISBN: 9781552979624Publication Date: 2004-08-19- Colourblind! for Kids by
What's it like to find out you're colourblind? Join Sam, age 10, as he gets some surprising news. Children of all ages will enjoy discovering -- Four reasons it's cool to be colourblind (pages 18-21) -- How things look to colourblind people (pages 22 -23) -- What happens when you get your eyes checked (starts on page 4) -- Secret patterns that only colourblind people can see (page 21)
ISBN: 9780993920202Publication Date: 2015-09-04
- Experiments in Light and Sound with Toys and Everyday Stuff by
Engaging experiments using simple toys and everyday stuff teach curious young minds all about light and sound. Readers can take an up-close look at how sound vibrations work, what pitch is, how reflection and refraction are related, and so much more. With low-level text and step-by-step photos, connecting young readers with science concepts and supporting the Next Generation Science Standards has never been simpler!
ISBN: 9781491450338Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Investigating Light by
The sun, lightbulbs, and flickering fires all bring light to our world. But have you ever watched light rays moving? Or seen how light rays reflect off objects? Now you can! Explore light with the fun experiments you'll find in this book. As part of the Searchlight Books(tm) collection, this series sheds light on a key science question―How Does Energy Work? Hands-on experiments, interesting photos, and useful diagrams will help you find the answer!
ISBN: 9780761378730Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Optical Illusions by
Nothing is quite what it seems in this brain-boggling collection of the best visual illusions. Packed with more than 50 incredible illusions to trick your eyes and tease your mind, this interactive book comes to life with multiple pop-ups, spinners, tabs, and flaps.

 Optical illusions confuse and confound us by deceiving our eyes and passing information to the brain on weird and wonderful sights that are not how they first appear to be. This guarantees hours of fun as you try to solve mirages and mysteries. Don't worry if any of them really blow your mind because clear explanations reveal how and why all the illusions work.

 Watch straight lines bend, see identical colors as different shades, observe printed pictures that float, and spot hidden images in Optical Illusions. Also included is an incredible 3D sculpture ready to assemble and baffle your brain as it seems to follows you wherever you go. If you're looking for more than meets the eye, then look no further.
ISBN: 9780756697891Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Maker Kit: Animal Adaptations
Students enjoy exploring the contents and discovering new things about animal adaptation. Includes fascinating specimens for hands-on exploration.
Suitability: Grade 3, 4, 5, 6, 7.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
2 books, 5 Hands-on science specimen center (birds, insects, mammals, reptiles, sea life), 5 small flashlights, 5 clear plastic trays, 8 animal x-rays (in plastic envelope), 5 student prompt cards, 1 teacher information card.
Birds specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Falcon x-ray -1 Sparrow nest replica -1 Peacock feather -1 owl scull replica -1 crow tracks fossil replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Insects specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Laminated butterfly -1 Dragonfly fossil replica -1 Silkworm cocoon in acrylic -1 stag beetle in acrylic -1 honeycomb -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Mammals specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Bat x-ray -1 Black bear claw replica -1 Beaver skull replica -1 Bopcat tracks fossil replica -1 Hippopotamus tooth replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Reptiles specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Rattlesnake x-ray -1 Turtle shell replica -1 Iguana skull replica -1 Crocodile tooth replica -1 Lizard fossil replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Sea life specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Piranha fossil replica -1 Sea sponge -1 Stingray jaw replica -1 Sea star -1 Shark tooth replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Bone by Bone by
What would you be if your finger bones grew so long that they reached your feet? You'd be a bat! What if you had no leg bones but kept your arm bones? You'd be a whale, a dolphin, or a porpoise! This entertaining picture book will keep readers guessing as they learn about how our skeletons are like―and unlike―those of other animals. How are you similar to animals? How are you different? These entertaining picture books from educator and veterinarian Sara Levine and illustrator T.S Spookytooth explore comparative anatomy and give readers the chance to find out how their skeletons, teeth, and eyes match up with a wide variety of animals from the past and present. Packed with surprising animal facts that will delight readers of all ages!
ISBN: 9780761384649Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Living Fossils: Clues to the Past by
A fascinating look at how and why some animals haven't changed much since prehistoric times. You haven't changed a bit! Living fossils, or modern-day animals that very closely resemble their ancient relatives. Meet the coelacanth, horseshoe crab, dragonfly, tuatara, nautilus, and Hula painted frog. All are living fossils. Why have they changed so little over time, while other animals evolved or went extinct? Using contrasting "then" and "now" illustrations, veteran nonfiction writer Caroline Arnold alternates between a prehistoric creature in its native environment and its contemporary living-fossil counterpart. An amazing way to experience the ancient past! Back matter includes a time line, additional information about the six living fossils, a glossary, and suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9781580896917Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Maker Kit: Gravity's Edge
When you play Gravity's Edge, you'll need to do more than just follow the rules. You'll need to follow the laws of physics! Players take turns placing the weighted Tipping Points one by one. As each new Tipping Point is added, the tower's balance becomes increasingly unstable. The longer the game goes on, the more intense each turn becomes! Try to bring the game into balance or push the limits to leave your opponents out on a limb. Whatever you do, don't let gravity get the best of you or you will topple the tower and lose the game!
Suitability: Grade 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science, Critical Thinking.
1 gravitational pole (7 small spokes, 7 large spokes, 3 counterweight baskets, 1 center dome), 1 balance pole, 1 base, 28 tipping points( 14 small, 14 large).
Maker Kit: Perplexus 2
This 3-D handheld game looks pretty intriguing - just wait 'til you start to play it! You'll figure out the concept quickly and easily. Get the little ball to follow the right-side up, upside-down, sideways and twisted pathway. Watch out! Don't let it come off the track or you'll start again! Twist and turn the game to get the ball to move along. With 100 barriers, twists, turns, cliffhangers and more, Perplexus is the ultimate 3-D labyrinth challenge! The entire experience will leave you perplexed and entertained all at the same time. A great game for all ages because it's easy to learn, yet tough to master!
Suitability: Grade 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Critical Thinking, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
1 Perplexus Original (with stand), 1 Perplexus Epic (with stand), 1 Perplexus Death Star (with stand), 3 instuctions sheets.
Maker Kit: Tipover: Logic Game
What do you get when you combine a sequential movement puzzle and a spatial orientation puzzle? TipOver! It's an addictively fun and equally challenging game where you tip over crates to move the red Tipper Man to the red crate. The challenge might sound easy, but the solution requires imagination and logic skills.
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Math, Applied Design, Skills and Technology.
1 game grid, 40 challenge cards, 10 yellow crates, 4 green crates, 2 blue crates, 1 red crate, 1 red tipper man, 1 travel bag, 1 set instructions.
Maker Kit: Create-A-Maze
Put your best-laid plans into motion with this brain-boosting, make-you-think game! Build a maze with curvy, colorful pieces by following the designs pictured on the Activity Cards. Then, push hand-eye coordination to the limit as you map a path through the maze, tilting the board and guiding the ball around the obstacles and into the goal. Give it a try by creating your own design! It's a one-of-a-kind challenge that revs up engineering and critical thinking skills. Endless combinations of designs provide multiple levels of play.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3.
Subjects: Science, Math, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
1 maze board, 1 base, 2 side support braces, 17 maze pieces, 2 red balls, 2 blue balls, 10 activity cards, 1 instruction guide.
Maker Kit: Simple Sewing and Puppet Making
Suitability: Grade 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Language Arts, Social Studies, Art, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
2 books.
Fantastic Finger Puppets to Make Yourself by
Watch your hands transform into birds, animals, flowers, forests and all sorts of other amazing characters. The 25 projects in this book include not only finger puppets, but also glove puppets, body-painted puppets, and even foot puppets. All the projects are simple and fun to do, and you can make them using everyday items found around the home, such as gloves, socks, ribbons, wool, buttons, beads and drinking straws. Then, why not use your puppets to make up stories with your friends? The rubber-glove fishermen could catch the painted octopus, the Tassel family could attend the wedding of the cardboard bride and her bridesmaids, and the glove-puppet elephant could meet the sock serpent. The book also contains ideas for making stages and scenery for your puppet shows, including an enchanted forest setting and a sailing boat.
ISBN: 9781861472694Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Super Simple Sewing for Kids by
Learning to sew is super simple...and lots of fun! This book includes tips to get started, types of stitches, basic material suggestions, and projects that include a porcupine greeting card, fridge magnets, cow hand puppet, and more. Creating a sewing craft increases a child's dexterity, aesthetic sense, and confidence. The Super Simple books help children learn gradually, from the easiest task to the more complex, and lets them have fun while they tackle new projects. The result: a keen sense of creativity, greater patience, and skills that last a lifetime.
ISBN: 9781438008257Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Maker Kit: Block By Block, Brick By Brick, Shape By Shape
Three creative building and pattern games that are all about fun while learning spatial reasoning skills.
Suitability: Grade 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Math, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
1 Block by block game, 1 Brick by brick game, 1 Shape by shape game.
Block by block game: 7 block pieces, 60 mind challenging cards, 1 instruction card, 1 game go bag.
Brick by brick game: 5 brick pieces, 60 mind challenging cards, 1 instruction card, 1 game go bag.
Shape by shape game: 1 game tray, 14 shape pieces (6 red, 8 yellow), 60 mind challenge cards, 1 instruction card, 1 game go bag.
Maker Kit: Littlecodr
Littlecodr is a crazy fun card game that helps kids learn the basics of logic and coding! Action cards are used to create paths (writing code) to follow.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Math.
1 book, 1 Littlecodr game: 80 action cards, 20 mission & lab cards, 5 instruction cards.
Lift-the-Flap Computers and Coding by
An interactive introduction to information and communication technology, which explains what goes on inside computers and what makes them do what they do. With lots of flaps to lift and look beneath, fact-hungry children will devour the fascinating data contained in this bright and engaging non-fiction book.
ISBN: 9781409591511Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Textile Maker Kit
Suitability: Grade 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Art.
9 books (2 copies of How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer).
The Art of Tinkering by
This Is Not Your Average Art Book. Brought to you by the Exploratorium's Tinkering Studio, The Art of Tinkering is an unprecedented celebration of what it means to tinker: to take things apart, explore tools and materials, and build wondrous, wild art that's part science and part technology. Join 150+ makers as they share the stories behind their beautiful and bold work and use this book to do some tinkering yourself. We do mean "use this book" in a literal sense... you won't even be able to reach the first page before using it. The Art of Tinkering is a collection of exhibits, artwork, and projects that celebrate a whole new way to learn, in which people create their own knowledge through making and doing, working with readily available materials, getting their hands dirty, collaborating with others, problem-solving in the most fun sense of the word, and, yes, oftentimes failing and bouncing back from getting stuck. Each artist featured in The Art of Tinkering goes through this process, and lovingly shares the backstory behind their own work so that readers can feel invited to join in on the whimsy. Whether it's sharing their favorite tools (who knew toenail clippers could be so handy?) or offering a glimpse of their workspaces (you'd be amazed how many electronics tools you can pack into one pantry!), the stories, lessons, and tips in The Art of Tinkering offer a fascinating portrait of today's maker scene. Artists include: Learn from greats like Scott Weaver, Arthur Ganson, Moxie, Tim Hunkin, AnnMarie Thomas, Ranjit Bhatnajar and Jie Qi.
ISBN: 9781616286095Publication Date: 2014-02-04
Cool Stuff to Sew by
This engaging book offers kids the opportunity to learn sewing skills while also allowing them to express their own creativity.
ISBN: 9781770922259Publication Date: 2015-09-01
E-Textiles by
Computers and electronic technology have gotten so small and portable that they can be woven into the fabric we wear. Readers will discover new processes, integrate visual information with text, and learn technical word meanings as they find out how makers are creating interesting new inventions from e-textiles. They will also discover how to make their own e-textile devices with a variety of fun activities.
ISBN: 9781624312724Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Hacking Fashion: Fleece by
Turn old fleece into something new and exciting with Hacking Fashion: Fleece. Students learn the art of innovation through detailed explanations and hands-on activities built to foster creativity and problem solving. Fun, engaging text introduces readers to new ideas and builds on maker-related concepts they may already know. Additional tools, including a glossary and an index, help students learn new vocabulary and locate information.
ISBN: 9781633624047Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Hacking Fashion: T- Shirts by
Learn how to recycle old clothes into brand-new fashions with these fun do-it-yourself activities. Readers can practice basic sewing skills to make their t-shirts more stylish and unique. Photos, sidebars, and callouts help readers draw connections between new concepts in this book and other makers-related concepts they may already know. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.
ISBN: 9781631888830Publication Date: 2015-01-01
How to Draw Like a Fashion Designer by
Based on successful fashion-drawing workshops held at London's Fashion and Textile Museum, here are practical drawing exercises that really work. Bold design, color-coded sections, and drawings that will translate to a sheet of paper make this a helpful and inspiring resource. The book begins by looking at the sketchbooks of past and present designers to see how they developed their signature drawing styles. Then there are sections that show how to create a fashion template or croquis, including fashion proportions and how to turn a stick figure into a full figure; how to draw skirts, pants, jackets, and dresses on your fashion template; and how to develop your own collection, including the creation of complete outfits and seasonal looks. There's a section that looks at the design process from creating a mood board and following a brief to developing a collection as well as a reference section with lists of technical terms, garment styles, and fabric types.
ISBN: 9780500650189Publication Date: 2013-09-23
Printing and Other Amazing Techniques by
This colorful, fun title provide budding young artists with a guide to improving their drawing skills with an emphasis on printing and other amazing techniques. The volume is packed with numerous projects that include step-by-step illustrated instructions as well as a completed project for reference. Ideal for supplementing art curriculums or for individual use, this title explores a variety of doodling and drawing techniques and tips to help each artist develop their artistic skills and inspire them to create their own illustration style.
ISBN: 9781910184387Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Silk Screening by
With projects ranging from posters to clothing, this book helps readers explore the art of silk screening. Students learn through detailed descriptions built to foster creativity and problem solving. Fun, engaging text introduces readers to new ideas and builds on maker-related concepts they may already know. Additional tools, including a glossary and an index, help students learn new vocabulary and locate information.
ISBN: 9781633624078Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Jam Making Equipment
This kit includes the equipment needed to make cooked jam. Consumable items needed to complete the jam are listed in the kit. Kit includes a recipe and picture instructions to make Cooked Strawberry Jam. This kit is to be used for fruit jams only. Do not use use any of the items for meat preparation. CAUTION: The jam making process deals with hot liquid and jars. Adult help is encouraged when removing hot jars from oven and filling jars.
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Home economics.
1 stainless steel pot, 1 food grade container (6 litre), 1 plastic measuring cup (1 litre), 1 Starfrit canning scoop. 1 Starfrit canning funnel, 1 Starfrit jar lifter, 1 Starfrit lid lifter, 1 wood spoon (45 cm), 1 Master Chef spatula, 1 Paderno masher, 1 cork trivet, 1 pot holder, 1 oven mit, 1 tea towel, 7 aprons (6 black, 1 striped), 1 plastic envelope containing 4 pages of Cooked Strawberry Jam instructions.
Maker Kit: Coding Like ABC
Lets kids develop the necessary cognitive abilities and learn coding skills from a young age. Kids use their imagination to create infinite possibilities using coding blocks, by controlling a robot car through coding algorithms. Kids receive instant feedback, and quickly learn that coding is simple. An introduction to coding that doesn't need a screen or literacy. Designed with play in mind this is a fun way to introduce young students to sequencing, coding, and music through exploratory play.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2.
Subjects: Science, Math, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Coding.
1 MatataBot, 1 Command tower, 1 Control board, 4 move forward blocks, 4 move backward blocks, 4 left turn blocks, 4 right turn blocks, 2 loop begins blocks, 2 loop ends blocks, 1 define function block, 3 calling function blocks, 1 random movement block, 1 preset music block, 1 preset dancing block, Number blocks 2, 3, 4, 5 (2 blocks each), 2 die tiles, Angle blocks 30°, 36°, 45°, 60°, 72°, 108°, 120°, 135°, 144°, 150° (2 blocks each), 3 artist warm-up cards, 3 music warm up cards, 1 nature map, 3 challenge booklets, 1 USB-C cable, 3 flags, 8 obstacles, 1 user guide.
Maker Kit: Let's Go Code
Children will have fun while building gross motor skills by stepping, hopping and turning. This set introduces children to early coding and programming ideas without electronics. The full-colour guide includes sample mazes and coding overview.
Suitability: Grade K, 1.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
20 double-sided coding cards, 20 foam maze mats (5 each green, orange, purple, blue), 2 robot cards, 8 action cards.
Maker Kit: Code-A-Pillar
Every time kids change and rearrange his pieces, Code-a-pillar takes a different path. The more kids rearrange the pieces, the more they develop problem-solving skills by "programming" different combinations to send Code-a-pillar in different directions! After rearranging the pieces a few times, kids will discover if they plan out a path for Code-a-pillar, and put his pieces together in a certain sequence, they can get him to follow it. Once kids can "program" a path for Code-a-pillar, the sky's the limit! And it opens the door to Critical Thinking as they figure out how to get Code-a-pillar to go wherever they want!
Suitability: Grade K.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Coding.
2 code-a-pillar engines, 16 pieces (6 green arrows, 4 orange arrows, 4 yellow arrows, 2 purple sound pieces), 4 discs (2 red stars, 2 green arrows), 2 instruction sheets.
Maker Kit: Colour and Light 2: [Light Table Compatible]
Introduce students to light and color! Look through the color mixing glasses to see the world in a new and colorful way! Use the animal eye viewers to see how a shark, insect and chameleon see the world. A great way to introduce young students to colour and light.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
6 books, 3 animal eye viewers (insect, shark, chameleon), 3 animal eye viewers info card (in baggie), 2 pair color mixing glasses (2 blue, 2 yellow, 2 red, 2 clear "bug-eye" lenses each), 48 color paddles (12 red, 12 blue, 12 yellow, 12 green), 1 lens & prism set (3 acrylic lenses, 1 acrylic prism, 1 guide), 3 color discovery tubes and instruction sheet, 2 large flashlights, 3 small flashlights, 1 teacher information card.
- All about Light by
This series introduces simple science topics using everyday objects and situations that readers can recognize in the world around them. This title looks at light: what it does, where it comes from, what materials it can pass through, shadows, reflection.
ISBN: 9781484626924Publication Date: 2016-01-01
- Colourblind! for Kids by
What's it like to find out you're colourblind? Join Sam, age 10, as he gets some surprising news. Children of all ages will enjoy discovering -- Four reasons it's cool to be colourblind (pages 18-21) -- How things look to colourblind people (pages 22 -23) -- What happens when you get your eyes checked (starts on page 4) -- Secret patterns that only colourblind people can see (page 21)
ISBN: 9780993920202Publication Date: 2015-09-04
- Experiments in Light and Sound with Toys and Everyday Stuff by
Engaging experiments using simple toys and everyday stuff teach curious young minds all about light and sound. Readers can take an up-close look at how sound vibrations work, what pitch is, how reflection and refraction are related, and so much more. With low-level text and step-by-step photos, connecting young readers with science concepts and supporting the Next Generation Science Standards has never been simpler!
ISBN: 9781491450338Publication Date: 2015-08-01
- Eye to Eye by
From Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins comes a series of animals with unusual eyes in this eye-catching picture book! In his eye-popping work of picture book nonfiction, Jenkins explains how for most animals, eyes are the most important source of information about the world in a biological sense. The simplest eyes--clusters of light-sensitive cells--appeared more than one billion years ago, and provided a big survival advantage to the first creatures that had them. Since then, animals have evolved an amazing variety of eyes, along with often surprising ways to use them.
ISBN: 9780547959078Publication Date: 2014-04-01
- Magical Experiments with Light and Color by
Fascinating scientific concepts are simplified and explored in ways that kids will enjoy in the Magic Science series. Each book presents 16 simple experiments that can be performed with common objects found around the house. Magical Experiments with Light and Color explores the nature of light through refraction, optical illusion, and more. Each experiment includes illustrated, step-by-step instructions and a simple scientific explanation of what is happening during the experiment. Full-color illustrations on each page.
ISBN: 9781438004266Publication Date: 2014-09-01
- Whose Eye Am I? by
"Who am I?" ask captions alongside close-ups of colorful animal eyes. As readers guess which animal belongs to each eye, they will discover that each animal has a unique and amazing way of seeing. Snakes have clear eyelids that cannot ever open or close. Some sea creatures have hundreds of eyes around the edges of their shells. Many animals can see colors that are invisible to humans. Brimming with vivid and engaging photographs, this book also includes a clear explanation of how human eyes work, a labeled diagram of a human eye, a glossary, and an index.
ISBN: 9780823435586Publication Date: 2016-01-30
Maker Kit: Exploring Light 2
Allows students to explore properties and characteristics of light as well as optical illusions.
Suitability: Grade 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
10 books, 8 mirrored shape blocks, 3 acrylic prisms (1", 2", 4"), 1 lens & prism set (3 acrylic lenses, 1 acrylic prism, 1 activity guide) , 4 colored paddles (yellow, green, blue, red), 3 color discovery tubes and instruction sheet, 2 large flashlights.
- All about Light by
This series introduces simple science topics using everyday objects and situations that readers can recognize in the world around them. This title looks at light: what it does, where it comes from, what materials it can pass through, shadows, reflection.
ISBN: 9781484626924Publication Date: 2016-01-01
- Amazing Optical Illusions by
A child's introduction to the world of optical illusions. Optical illusions are a window into how the brain perceives. Part of the fun is being fully aware that you're being tricked, fooled and misled. This collection of illusions will definitely do that! Amazing Optical Illusions features thirty of the most fascinating images guaranteed to dazzle the eye and trick the mind. It includes examples of every type of optical illusion: Ground/field reversal images where one shape switches into another and back again Escher's Impossible Crate Eternal spirals and dazzling graphic patterns Enigmatic designs and hidden figures Baffling shapes that change before your eyes. The illusions are rendered in photography, artwork and the latest computer imaging. Each illusion is explained in clear language for young readers. Amazing Optical Illusions is a child's exciting introduction to the world's most startling optical illusions. It is a fascinating collection that will have all ages wondering exactly what they are seeing.
ISBN: 9781552979624Publication Date: 2004-08-19
- Colourblind! for Kids by
What's it like to find out you're colourblind? Join Sam, age 10, as he gets some surprising news. Children of all ages will enjoy discovering -- Four reasons it's cool to be colourblind (pages 18-21) -- How things look to colourblind people (pages 22 -23) -- What happens when you get your eyes checked (starts on page 4) -- Secret patterns that only colourblind people can see (page 21)
ISBN: 9780993920202Publication Date: 2015-09-04
- Experiments in Light and Sound with Toys and Everyday Stuff by
Engaging experiments using simple toys and everyday stuff teach curious young minds all about light and sound. Readers can take an up-close look at how sound vibrations work, what pitch is, how reflection and refraction are related, and so much more. With low-level text and step-by-step photos, connecting young readers with science concepts and supporting the Next Generation Science Standards has never been simpler!
ISBN: 9781491450338Publication Date: 2015-08-01
- Eye to Eye by
From Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins comes a series of animals with unusual eyes in this eye-catching picture book! In his eye-popping work of picture book nonfiction, Jenkins explains how for most animals, eyes are the most important source of information about the world in a biological sense. The simplest eyes--clusters of light-sensitive cells--appeared more than one billion years ago, and provided a big survival advantage to the first creatures that had them. Since then, animals have evolved an amazing variety of eyes, along with often surprising ways to use them.
ISBN: 9780547959078Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Fantastic Optical Illusions by
A new, colorful collection of more than 130 visual illusions and brain teasers found in three of DK's award-winning titles: Optical Illusions, Mindbenders, and Color Illusions. Fantastic Optical Illusions is filled with visual illusions, color tricks, perplexing puzzles, quizzes, and more. In this mind-bending book, each puzzle is framed as a question that prompts young readers to look for or do something specific and even includes an explanation of how the illusion works, so kids won't be confused for too long. Engaging and entertaining, this activity book is the perfect gift for someone of any age. Series Overview: DK's Optical Illusions series is filled with brain-teasing and mind-bending images. The series is aimed at children who love brain teasers, but it's irresistible for puzzle fiends of all ages. Other books in the series include: Optical Illusions, Mindbenders, Color Illusions, SENSEational Illusions, and The Magic Show Book.
ISBN: 9781465468048Publication Date: 2017-11-07- Magical Experiments with Light and Color by
Fascinating scientific concepts are simplified and explored in ways that kids will enjoy in the Magic Science series. Each book presents 16 simple experiments that can be performed with common objects found around the house. Magical Experiments with Light and Color explores the nature of light through refraction, optical illusion, and more. Each experiment includes illustrated, step-by-step instructions and a simple scientific explanation of what is happening during the experiment. Full-color illustrations on each page.
ISBN: 9781438004266Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Optical Illusions by
Fool your brain with mind-boggling illusions, then get hands-on and make your own to wow your friends! Learn all about the science behind these wacky phenomena, from moving liquid on a page, to shapes that disappear in front of your eyes with this clever guide. The brain is an amazing thing, but it doesn't always get things right when it comes to sight. This book is here to explain why, with astounding images, baffling puzzles, and simple reveals which show the reader how each trick works. Covering a range of optical topics, from shapes and movement, to light and reflection, this cool manual contains templates at the back which reveal answers and help you to create your own astounding illusions.
ISBN: 9781682973394Publication Date: 2017-01-01- Optical Illusions by
Nothing is quite what it seems in this brain-boggling collection of the best visual illusions. Packed with more than 50 incredible illusions to trick your eyes and tease your mind, this interactive book comes to life with multiple pop-ups, spinners, tabs, and flaps.

 Optical illusions confuse and confound us by deceiving our eyes and passing information to the brain on weird and wonderful sights that are not how they first appear to be. This guarantees hours of fun as you try to solve mirages and mysteries. Don't worry if any of them really blow your mind because clear explanations reveal how and why all the illusions work.

 Watch straight lines bend, see identical colors as different shades, observe printed pictures that float, and spot hidden images in Optical Illusions. Also included is an incredible 3D sculpture ready to assemble and baffle your brain as it seems to follows you wherever you go. If you're looking for more than meets the eye, then look no further.
ISBN: 9780756697891Publication Date: 2012-08-20
- Whose Eye Am I? by
"Who am I?" ask captions alongside close-ups of colorful animal eyes. As readers guess which animal belongs to each eye, they will discover that each animal has a unique and amazing way of seeing. Snakes have clear eyelids that cannot ever open or close. Some sea creatures have hundreds of eyes around the edges of their shells. Many animals can see colors that are invisible to humans. Brimming with vivid and engaging photographs, this book also includes a clear explanation of how human eyes work, a labeled diagram of a human eye, a glossary, and an index.
ISBN: 9780823435586Publication Date: 2016-01-30
Maker Kit: Animal Adaptations 2
Students enjoy exploring the contents and discovering new things about animal adaptation. Includes fascinating specimens for hands-on exploration.
Suitability: Grade 3, 4, 5, 6, 7.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
3 books, 5 Hands-on science specimen center (birds, insects, mammals, reptiles, sea life), 5 small flashlights, 5 plastic trays, 14 animal x-rays with reference pictures and guide (in plastic envelope), 5 student prompt cards, 1 teacher information card.
Birds specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Falcon x-ray -1 Sparrow nest replica -1 Peacock feather -1 owl scull replica -1 crow tracks fossil replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Insects specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Laminated butterfly -1 Dragonfly fossil replica -1 Silkworm cocoon in acrylic -1 stag beetle in acrylic -1 honeycomb -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Mammals specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Bat x-ray -1 Black bear claw replica -1 Beaver skull replica -1 Bopcat tracks fossil replica -1 Hippopotamus tooth replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Reptiles specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Rattlesnake x-ray -1 Turtle shell replica -1 Iguana skull replica -1 Crocodile tooth replica -1 Lizard fossil replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
Sea life specimen center: 5 Photo cards -1 Piranha fossil replica -1 Sea sponge -1 Stingray jaw replica -1 Sea star -1 Shark tooth replica -1 magnifier -1 activity guide.
- Bone by Bone by
What would you be if your finger bones grew so long that they reached your feet? You'd be a bat! What if you had no leg bones but kept your arm bones? You'd be a whale, a dolphin, or a porpoise! This entertaining picture book will keep readers guessing as they learn about how our skeletons are like―and unlike―those of other animals. How are you similar to animals? How are you different? These entertaining picture books from educator and veterinarian Sara Levine and illustrator T.S Spookytooth explore comparative anatomy and give readers the chance to find out how their skeletons, teeth, and eyes match up with a wide variety of animals from the past and present. Packed with surprising animal facts that will delight readers of all ages!
ISBN: 9780761384649Publication Date: 2013-08-01
- Living Fossils: Clues to the Past by
A fascinating look at how and why some animals haven't changed much since prehistoric times. You haven't changed a bit! Living fossils, or modern-day animals that very closely resemble their ancient relatives. Meet the coelacanth, horseshoe crab, dragonfly, tuatara, nautilus, and Hula painted frog. All are living fossils. Why have they changed so little over time, while other animals evolved or went extinct? Using contrasting "then" and "now" illustrations, veteran nonfiction writer Caroline Arnold alternates between a prehistoric creature in its native environment and its contemporary living-fossil counterpart. An amazing way to experience the ancient past! Back matter includes a time line, additional information about the six living fossils, a glossary, and suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9781580896917Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Remarkable Animals by
What is a Treevipus? A fantastic creature with the head of a trunkfish, the body of a weevil, and the tail of a platypus, of course! In this reissue of this popular novelty title, a host of creatures presented in humorous pictures and informative captions take on new names and a hilarious new identity when their heads, bodies, and legs are swapped around as the pages are flipped. Tony Meeuwissen's witty interchangeable text and beautifully detailed artwork combine to make an exceptional novelty book that will keep children occupied for hours. With over 1,000 crazy creatures to create, this is the perfect book for all the family to have fun with.
ISBN: 9781847806321Publication Date: 2015-03-15
Maker Kit: Perplexus
This 3-D handheld game looks pretty intriguing - just wait 'til you start to play it! You'll figure out the concept quickly and easily. Get the little ball to follow the right-side up, upside-down, sideways and twisted pathway. Watch out! Don't let it come off the track or you'll start again! Twist and turn the game to get the ball to move along. With 100 barriers, twists, turns, cliffhangers and more, Perplexus is the ultimate 3-D labyrinth challenge! The entire experience will leave you perplexed and entertained all at the same time. A great game for all ages because it's easy to learn, yet tough to master!
Suitability: Grade 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7.
Subjects: Core Competencies, Critical Thinking, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
1 Perplexus Original (with stand), 1 Perplexus Rookie (with stand), 2 instruction sheets, 1 history of perplexus sheet.
Maker Kit: Mental Blox
Put your critical thinking to the test and fire up the strategic problem solving! Stack, pattern and match the multicolor shapes. Don't be fooled by appearances, these endlessly enjoyable blocks mean brain-boosting business. Mental Blox help students practice following verbal instructions, asking questions and build critical thinking skills. Activity cards provide students with examples of what to build. Students can recreate what is on the card or can give verbal instructions to a partner or group. Pieces feature four different shapes and 3 different attributes for a real challenge!
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technology.
20 blocks (2 of each): Orange square -Orange x -Green square -Blue x -Orange pyramid -Green pyramid -Blue ball -Purple ball -Green ball -Purple square, 40 double-sided cards, 1 activity guide.
Maker Kit: Cube Challenge
The cube challenge kit contains multiple ways to exercise your mind. The more you play, the smarter you get!
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Math, Applied Design, Skills and Technology.
1 Riddle cube game (4 riddle cubes, 100 double-sided challenge cards, 60-second sand timer, instruction booklet), 1 happy cube puzzles (6/pkg., 6 instruction sheets), 1 little genius cube puzzles (6/pkg., 6 instruction sheets), 1 nautilus cube, 1 mefferts puzzle master cube (types may vary in kits).
Maker Kit: Claymation
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Social Studies, Language Arts, Art.
15 books.
The Bear Report by
Sophie does not want to do her homework, a research report on polar bears. Bor-ing. They're big. They eat things. They're mean. What else is there to say about them anyway? As it turns out, plenty. And when a polar bear named Olafur swoops her away to the Arctic, she soon learns all about the playful bear's habits and habitat - from glacier mice to the northern lights - and, despite her first reservations, she finds herself not just interested but excited about the Arctic. When the two are swept out to sea on an iceberg, Sophie's new knowledge and knack for creative thinking pay off in a big way: she calls a whale to their aid! Inspired by her journey, she's ready to return home and take another swing at her assignment, this time with gusto. The Bear Report showcases the power of curiosity and imagination to fill any blank canvas, whether it's an incomplete homework assignment or the Arctic ice.
ISBN: 9781419707834Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Learning about Fiction by
If a boy flies or a dog goes to school, you're reading fiction. How else do you know? Quick, fun examples help you understand the make believe of fiction.
ISBN: 9781491406465Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Learning about Folktales, Fables, and Fairy Tales by
If a story has magical creatures or a fairy princess, you're reading folklore. How else do you know? Quick, fun examples help you understand the magic of fairy tales, fables, and folk tales.
ISBN: 9781491406458Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Learning about Media Literacy by
Media is everywhere. Even the youngest readers need to know how to interact with it. Straightforward text and clear photographs givers readers the tools they need to evaluate and understand media.
ISBN: 9781491418338Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Learning about Poems by
If words describe a feeling or some words rhyme, you're reading a poem. How else do you know? Quick, fun examples help you understand the beauty of poetry.
ISBN: 9781491406489Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Maker Projects for Kids Who Love Animation by
In this engaging title, readers interested in animation will learn about the history of this art in motion, and discover who the world's greatest animators have been and how they came to create their inspiring works. The book includes several imaginative Maker projects to inspire readers to create their own animation. They will be encouraged to choose the style of animation they wish to create and experiment with it to change it into a form that suits their ideas and concepts.
ISBN: 9780778722564Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Modeling Clay with 3 Basic Shapes by
Teachers, parents, and kids will adore this funny and instructive book for sculpting clay! Modeling Clay with 3 Basic Shapes is a step-by-step guide that shows children how to create more than 40 adorable clay animals (and helps teachers and parents guide them!) Modeling Clay with 3 Basic Shapes starts with three basic shapes (ball, worm, and teardrop), and builds on these to help children learn how to create personality-filled clay critters. The book also contains: Helpful photos and illustrations Numbered steps and crystal-clear directions Funny text to keep kids (and adults!) entertained Endless fun projects, including pandas, owls, rhinos, kittens, puppies, snakes, koala bears, raccoons, snails, turtles, fish, and more A technique guide to help teachers and parents lead the projects This beginner's modeling book is perfect for a rainy day or art class project, and will help foster and encourage creativity in your children or students!
ISBN: 9781438009087Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Nanabosho: How the Turtle Got its Shell by
After the shy and vulnerable Turtle helps Nanabosho find fish to eat, Nanabosho wants to give thanks. The gift he gives is one to make Turtle brave to face the world.
ISBN: 9780921827405Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Peace Dancer by
The children of the Tsimshian village of Kitkatla love to play at being hunters, eager for their turn to join the grown-ups. But when they capture and mistreat a crow, the Chief of the Heavens, angered at their disrespect, brings down a powerful storm. The rain floods the Earth and villagers have no choice but to abandon their homes and flee to their canoes. As the seas rise, the villagers tie themselves to the top of Anchor Mountain, where they pray for days on end and promise to teach their children to value all life. The storm stops and the waters recede. From that point on, the villagers appoint a chief to perform the Peace Dance at every potlatch and, with it, pass on the story of the flood and the importance of respect. With eighteen new illustrations from Roy Henry Vickers and exceptional narrative, Peace Dancer will delight readers of all ages and add to the collection of global flood stories.
ISBN: 9781550177398Publication Date: 2016-05-28
Robot Claymation by
You don't need to be a robotic engineer to build a robot! This book shows readers how to sculpt their own robots out of clay. The volume begins with a list of Claymation materials and techniques to introduce readers to the process. Readers will learn how to sculpt clay into figures from simple robots to dog robots, using both the subtractive and armature sculpting techniques. They'll also learn how to make a set and props to round out their movie scenes. Instructions for using lights and cameras get crafters ready to shoot their own robot movie!
ISBN: 9781508192046Publication Date: 2016-07-30
Spare Dog Parts by
A stumpy tail, mismatched paws, a long, drooly snout and the biggest dog heart that ever beat. In a celebration of what makes a pet unique, a little girl imagines how an odd assortment of parts combined to make the perfect dog. With spare, inviting text from Alison Hughes and charmingly offbeat illustrations by award-winning illustrator Ashley Spires, this gorgeous picture book is sure to be an instant classic.
ISBN: 9781459807044Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Those That Cause Fear by
This book introduces kids to the spine-tingling, hair-raising creatures found in Inuit myths. From the mahahaa, a fearsome creature that tickles people to death to the palraijuk, a reptilian creature said to have six legs and the body of a snake, this book introduces kids to all the creepy, spooky, and downright scary creatures told about in Inuit traditional myths.
ISBN: 9781772270853Publication Date: 2016-05-03
The Two Sisters by
For the first time, Pauline Johnson’s "The Two Sisters,” a First Nations legend, is accompanied by sumptuous illustrations that showcase the splendour of the Salish Sea. The universal themes of Creation, courage, and peace run through this legend of two little girls who grow up to be courageous young women who help to bring lasting peace to their world. The story is supplemented by a reference section that will enable a reader, parent, teacher, or visitor to the coast to immerse themselves in the rich history of Coast Salish cultures.
ISBN: 9780994999719Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The Typewriter by
Using just nine words, the award-winning creator of Chalk takes readers on another unforgettable journey. When three children discover a typewriter on a carousel, they are transported on an adventure of their own creation--complete with a giant beach ball and a threatening crab. Stunning, richly colored artwork is paired with limited text so children can tell their own version of the story.
ISBN: 9781477849750Publication Date: 2016-03-08
What Do You Do with an Idea? by
What do you do with an idea? Especially an idea that's different, or daring, or a little wild? This is the story of one brilliant idea and the child who helps to bring it into the world. It's a story for anyone, at any age, who's ever had an idea that seemed too big, too odd, too difficult. It's a story to inspire you to welcome that idea, to give it space to grow, and to see what happens next.
What Do You Do With an Idea? has won several awards, including the Independent Publisher's Book Gold Award, the Washington State Book Award, and the Moonbeam Children's Book Award.
It has also hit multiple best-seller lists, such as Publisher's Weekly, the Wall Street Journal, and USA Today.
ISBN: 9781938298073Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Maker Kit: Robot Mouse Coding Activity
Introduce students to the fun of coding and puzzle solving with this colorful, programmable mouse with maze! A great way to introduce young children to science, technology, engineering, and math.
Suitability: Grade K, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Subjects: Applied Design, Skills and Technologies, Math, Science.
1 Robot mouse coding activity set, 1 programmable robot mouse, 1 littlecodr game.
Robot mouse coding activity set: 30 coding cards, 22 maze walls (purple), 1 cheese wedge, 16 maze grid pieces (green), 10 double-sided activity cards, 3 tunnels (orange), 1 robot mouse (blue), 1 activity guide.
Robot mouse: 1 robot mouse (purple), 30 coding cards, 1 activity guide.
Littlecodr game: 80 action cards, 20 mission & lab cards, 5 instruction cards.
Maker Kit: Gravity Maze: Falling Marble Logic Game
It's a maze game. It's a marble game. Actually, it's a gravity-powered logic maze game that builds reasoning skills and visual perception. The best part is - it's fun to play and learn! Use the challenge cards to strategically place towers and create a path for your marble to reach the target. With 60 challenges to test your skills, this fun maze game is definitely a marble run for brainiacs!
Suitability: Grade 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science, Applied Design, Skills and Technologies.
1 game grid, 60 challenge cards, 1 5-unit tower, 2 4-unit tower, 2 3-unit tower, 2 2-unit tower, 2 1-unit tower, 1 target tower, 3 steel marbles, instruction manual.
Maker Skills
Suitability: Grade 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science.
9 books, 2 MaKey MaKey kits: 1 MaKey MaKey board, 7 alligator clips, 6 white wires, 1 USB cable, instructions each.
- The Art of Tinkering by
This Is Not Your Average Art Book. Brought to you by the Exploratorium's Tinkering Studio, The Art of Tinkering is an unprecedented celebration of what it means to tinker: to take things apart, explore tools and materials, and build wondrous, wild art that's part science and part technology. Join 150+ makers as they share the stories behind their beautiful and bold work and use this book to do some tinkering yourself. We do mean "use this book" in a literal sense... you won't even be able to reach the first page before using it. The Art of Tinkering is a collection of exhibits, artwork, and projects that celebrate a whole new way to learn, in which people create their own knowledge through making and doing, working with readily available materials, getting their hands dirty, collaborating with others, problem-solving in the most fun sense of the word, and, yes, oftentimes failing and bouncing back from getting stuck. Each artist featured in The Art of Tinkering goes through this process, and lovingly shares the backstory behind their own work so that readers can feel invited to join in on the whimsy. Whether it's sharing their favorite tools (who knew toenail clippers could be so handy?) or offering a glimpse of their workspaces (you'd be amazed how many electronics tools you can pack into one pantry!), the stories, lessons, and tips in The Art of Tinkering offer a fascinating portrait of today's maker scene. Artists include: Learn from greats like Scott Weaver, Arthur Ganson, Moxie, Tim Hunkin, AnnMarie Thomas, Ranjit Bhatnajar and Jie Qi.
ISBN: 9781616286095Publication Date: 2014-02-04
The Big Book of Maker Skills (Popular Science) by
Makers, get ready. This is your ultimate, must-have, tip-packed guide for taking your DIY projects to the next level--from basic wood- and metalworking skills to plugged-in fun with power tools, from cutting-edge electronics play to 3-D printing wizardry. Join Chris Hackett, Popular Science intrepid DIY columnist and star of the Science Channel's Stuck with Hackett , on a rummage through the toolbox of yore--and a foray into the technologies of the future. HAND TOOLS A classic is a classic for a reason. Learn to build your own metal forge, screen-print whatever you want, swing a hammer better than your ancestors, and repurpose what Hackett calls "obtainium"--but what others might call trash--into your own mad-scientist creations. POWER TOOLS Discover the supreme joy that is angle-grinding, rig your own welding machine out of a junked car battery or three, and meet and master a whole host of electronic gadgets--LEDs, piezo buzzers, solar panels, and more. ROBOTS & BEYOND When it comes to making, there's a whole new skillset in town. Get started with CNC milling, laser-cutting, programming microcontrollers, and 3D printing in a chapter that's all about building what's next. MUCH MORE Setting up a hackerspace, drones and space exploration tools, circuitry basics, sourcing and crowdsourcing and biotechnology- just to name a few more. You name it; it's probably in this book. Packaged in a durable, wipe-clean flexicover with metallic corner-guards, this practical manual withstands heavy-duty use indoors and out.
ISBN: 9781616287269Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Design Thinking by
Learn how to think critically about the design of things you want to make. Readers will learn to analyze the efficiency of their plans, while still feeling encouraged to push forward with new ideas. Photos, sidebars, and callouts help readers draw connections between new concepts in this book and other makers-related concepts they may already know. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.
ISBN: 9781631888823Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Game Design by
From simple board games to the latest in video game technology makers are hard at work designing fun new ways to play. Readers will discover new processes, integrate visual information with text, and and learn technical word meanings as they find out how games are designed and what makes a good game. They will also learn how to plan and create games of their own.
ISBN: 9781624312748Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Howtoons by
Fun How-To, DIY projects and activities to teach kids STEM & STEAM fundamentals and spark curiosity through play! "This is a great addition to STEM collections, maker spaces, and elementary- through middle-school graphic-novel collections." - Booklist "Fine, fabulous stuff" - School Library Journal Lurking in the corners of your garage, on the dusty shelves of hardware stores, and in your own trashcan are the tools and ingredients for creating your own adventures. Follow Celine and Tucker as they learn through play with over 50 DIY projects! Challenged to make something "other than trouble," this brother-and-sister pair use everyday objects to invent toys that readers can build. Combining comics and real-life science and engineering principles, Howtoons are designed to encourage kids to become active participants in the world around them. "...perfectly tuned to inspire creativity as well as promote good work habits in budding inventors and mechanical engineers alike." - Kirkus Review "Geeks aren't born, they're made... and here's the instruction manual." - Wired Magazine
ISBN: 9781632151018Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Prototyping by
Learn how to improve your projects by building and revising prototypes. Readers will learn how to start making a new idea a reality without putting their effort or resources to waste. Photos, sidebars, and callouts help readers draw connections between new concepts in this book and other makers-related concepts they may already know. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.
ISBN: 9781631888816Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Soldering by
Learn how to solder electronic components together and build your own devices. Readers will learn basic soldering skills, which will be useful in pursuing a variety of engineering projects. Photos, sidebars, and callouts help readers draw connections between new concepts in this book and other makers-related concepts they may already know. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.
ISBN: 9781631377945Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Squishy Circuits by
Learn how to safely create electronic circuits using conductive and insulating doughs. Readers will learn basic circuitry skills, which will be useful in pursuing a variety of engineering projects. Photos, sidebars, and callouts help readers draw connections between new concepts in this book and other makers-related concepts they may already know. Additional text features and search tools, including a glossary and an index, help students locate information and learn new words.
ISBN: 9781631377952Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Zero to Maker by
Are you possessed by the urge to invent, design, and make something that others enjoy, but don't know how to plug into the Maker movement? In this book, you'll follow author David Lang's headfirst dive into the Maker world and how he grew to be a successful entrepreneur. You'll discover how to navigate this new community, and find the best resources for learning the tools and skills you need to be a dynamic maker in your own right. Lang reveals how he became a pro maker after losing his job, and how the experience helped him start OpenROV--a DIY community and product line focused on open source undersea exploration. It all happened once he became an active member of the Maker culture. Ready to take the plunge into the next Industrial Revolution? This guide provides a clear and inspiring roadmap. Take an eye-opening journey from unskilled observer to engaged maker-entrepreneur Enter the Maker community to connect with experts and pick up new skills Use a template for building a maker-based entrepreneurial lifestyle Learn from the organizer of the first-ever Maker Startup Weekend Be prepared for exciting careers of the future
ISBN: 9781449356439Publication Date: 2013-10-08
How to Code
Introduction to learning how to design and code using Logo, Scratch, HTML, JavaScript, and Python.
Suitability: Grade 4, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12.
Subjects: Science, Language Arts.
5 books.
How to Code: Level 1 by
Introduces the basic principles of coding. Learn how to give instructions and turn instructions into code. Figure out how to debug code, solve problems and use algorithms. Includes basic coding, solving problems, turning instructions into code, logo and scratch.
ISBN: 9781939581884Publication Date: 2015-08-01
How to Code: Level 2 by
Introduces the basic principles of coding. Learn how to give instructions and turn instructions into code. Figure out how to debug code, solve problems and use algorithms. Includes basic coding, solving problems, turning instructions into code, logo and scratch.
ISBN: 9781939581891Publication Date: 2015-08-01
How to Code: Level 3 by
Takes coding further by showing how to use selection in coding ('if' statements) and how to use more sophisticated languages like Python. Includes using selection in coding and more advanced programming with Python. All from Max Wainewright, an award winning programmer.
ISBN: 9781939581907Publication Date: 2015-08-01
How to Code: Level 4 by
Coding techniques are developed further and readers learn how to create code that can run in web pages. Introduces basic HTML and JavaScript. Includes developing coding techniques, creating code for web pages, basic HTML and JavaScript.
ISBN: 9781939581914Publication Date: 2015-08-01
How to Code in 10 Easy Lessons by
By breaking this daunting subject down into the 10 "super skills", young readers can get familiar with computer coding and build on their skills by progressing through these projects! How to Code in 10 Easy Lessons starts by asking the question, "What is coding?". You'll get to know the super skills of coding, then get to see how to use Scratch coding software to write simple code, use loops, and debug, to create a webpage, and even make a computer game. Perfect for middle-school aged kids, this guide is filled with easy-to-follow instructions and step-by-step graphics.
ISBN: 9781633220508Publication Date: 2015-10-01
