LibGuides: SD57 Digital Toolbox: Home

Using a Tool

Welcome to the Digital Toolbox for SD57 - Prince George.

This database contains online apps and services (tools) that can be used in SD57 provided the privacy instructions are followed.

There are 3 levels of privacy instructions that will be used:

No student information required

This tool does not need any identifiable student information such as name, email address, etc. If there is optional fields to provide this information they must not be used.

Usable with Pseudonyms

This tool requires student information but you may use a pseudonym system to avoid giving any identifiable student information.
The following cannot be used as a pseudonym:

Students' PEN or Pupil #
Students' Email address

Examples of pseudonyms include:

numbers
fictional characters

When accurate student information must be used in account creation parental consent must be acquired. If a tool says this then a completed consent form must be given to the student (if over 13) or parent/guardian (if under 13). An alternative to the tool must be provided for anyone who declines the use of a tool.

Tools will also be labeled with one of 3 payment types:

Free Tool

Free tools do not require any payment to use the basic features.
Examples are:

Scratch

There may be additional costs to use premium features however. This will be noted where known.

District-Paid License Available

SD57 has a license for this tool. Contact your teacher-librarian for a list of passwords for use outside SD57 networks. Most District tools will automatically work on SD57 networks
Examples are:

World Book Encylopedia
Bookflix

Note: Not all licenses allow every school to use. Some licenses are only for elementary or high school. This will be noted where applicable.

School-Based Payment Required

It is up to the school to pay for this tool.
Examples are:

Reading A-Z
IXL

Requesting a new tool

New apps require a privacy scan if they have not been approved. Teachers who would like to submit a request to have one done, please fill out this form. Tools will be prioritized and assessed as soon as possible for educational benefits and privacy concerns.

Toolbox

Use the following filters buttons to show only the matching items:

Privacy:	No student information required Usable with Pseudonyms Consent Required
Payment Type:	Free Tool District-Paid License Available School-Based Payment Required
	Clear Filters

Tool Name	Description	Privacy Instructions	Payment Type	Privacy Documents
MakeWonder (Cue & Dash)	Cloud programming environment for the Cue & Dash robots.	No student information required	Free Tool	PIA
Curio	Curio is a streaming video service with content from K-12 in English and French.	No student information required	District-Paid License Available	PIA
Learning A-Z	Learning A-Z tools include: RAZ Kids Reading A-Z Learning A-Z Headsprout ELL Reading Solution	Consent Required Usable with Pseudonyms	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
MathUp	MathUp is a tool for increasing teacher competency with mathematical concepts from K to Grade 7	No student information required	District-Paid License Available	PIA
Microsoft 365 A3 Includes Minecraft EDU	Student accounts include a personal district email address as well as access to the most recent versions of Microsoft Office tools, such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote and more. It also includes an online file storage space (OneDrive) so work can be accessed on any device	Consent Required	District-Paid License Available	PIA Minecraft PIA Update Parent/Guardian Consent Form Student (13+) Consent Form
IXL	IXL is a personalized learning platform that allows for students to move through instructional material in English Language Arts and Mathematics at their own pace, provides diagnostics on their learning to the teacher and helps teachers plan next steps for their students.	Consent Required Usable with Pseudonyms	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Moodle	Moodle is a learning management system that allows for distance or distributed learning for students. Note: This requires hosting on a Canadian server to meet Privacy requirements.	Consent Required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Parent/Guardian Consent Form Student (13+) Consent Form
Unity 3D	Unity 3D is a 3D programming environment for creating computer generated graphical environments, video games and more. Needs installing on computer by school technologist.	No student information required	Free Tool Instructor must create an account and get approved to use the educational license	PIA
Young Empowered Startuppers (YES)	YES is a fully integrated ed-tech learning platform that incorporates entrepreneurship curriculum and design thinking for Grade 10-12 students	Consent Required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Autodesk Fusion360 CAD	Autodesk Fusion360 is a cloud based CAD program that allows students to create computer aided design projects for use on milling machines. This PIA covers AutoDesk, AutoCAD	Consent Required	Free Tool	PIA Consent Form
Sora Overdrive	Sora Overdrive is a e-book and audiobook platform where students can borrow books in digital formats.	No student information required	District-Paid License Available	PIA
Sphero	Sphero EDU is a programming environment for Sphero Robots	Consent Required Usable with Pseudonyms	Free Tool	PIA
Remind Chat	Remind Chat is a messaging program for enabling 2-way communication with parents and students	No student information required If using just with parents. Consent Required If using Remind with Students	Free Tool For individual classrooms School-Based Payment Required For school-wide usage	PIA
mBlock	mBlock is a web programming environment for the mBot robots	No student information required	Free Tool	PIA
myBlueprint	myBlueprint is an online platform for career life education. It allows students to create a career portfolio as part of their graduation path.	Consent Required	District-Paid License Available	PIA
Idello	Idello is a french language resource for French Immersion Teachers	No student information required	District-Paid License Available
Twig Education (TigTag, TigTag Junior, Twig and Twig Science Reporter)	Twig Education is a suite of science resources with videos and lessons that encourage students to explore scientific concepts and ask questions about the world around them	No student information required	District-Paid License Available	PIA
Kahoot! EDU	Kahoot! EDU isa subscription service to the Kahoot! Platform that allows teachers to collaborate on and deploy quizzes and other interactive presentations to students either locally or remotely including asynchronously for remote students.	No student information required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA
Open Parachute Schools	Open Parachute is an online platform for supporting teachers in teaching mental health lessons to students. It includes pre-planned lessons for teachers to use developed by a clinical psychologist; online training videos for teachers and practical exercises to help them develop their expertise; and resources for parents.	No student information required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA
Typio	Typio is an accessible typing tutor built for students who are blind, visually impaired, deaf or hard of hearing. It can do either a standard QWERTY keyboard or UEB Braille.	Usable with Pseudonyms For school user Consent Required For home use (set up by school)	School-Based Payment Required	PIA
padlet; padlet Backpack	padlet is a platform for sharing ideas in small groups. padlet is a place where you can create single or multiple walls that are able to house all the posts you want to share. From videos and images to documents and audio, it is literally a blank slate. It's collaborative, too, allowing you to involve students, other teachers and even parents and guardians.	No student information required For padlet base version Consent Required For padlet Backpack	Free Tool For padlet base version School-Based Payment Required For padlet Backpack	PIA
Therabyte	Therabyte is practice management software for associated professionals (OTs, Physios, SLPs) for taking case notes, scheduling, and communicating with EAs assigned to them.	No student information required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA
Chalk Markbook	An integrated planning and analytic platform made up of: Markbook with links to BC curriculum standard and Planbook: a curriculum map which ties assessments and marks into units with relevant learning standards, and a day and week planner utilizing the assessments provided by the teacher.	Usable with Pseudonyms Consent Required	Free Tool School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
SpacesEDU	SpacesEDU from Doublethink Inc. is a browser-based digital portfolio and assessment platform designed to capture, assess and share student growth.	Consent Required	Free Tool District-Paid License Available	PIA
ClassDojo	ClassDojo is a learning management tool that allows students, teachers and parents to connect, set goals, and communicate.	Consent Required	Free Tool School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
SLPToolkit	SLPToolkit is an assessment tool designed to help with gathering and recording data related to treatment and treatment recommendations specifically for Speech Language Pathologists (SLPs).	Usable with Pseudonyms	School-Based Payment Required	PIA
Scratch	Scratch is a web-based coding environment for students designed by MIT. It allows students to create games, animations and other programs.	Usable with Pseudonyms	Free Tool	PIA Account Creation Instructions
Pixton	Pixton is a digital storytelling tool that allows students to create comic style stories from avatars and backgrounds with text and speech bubbles.	Consent Required	Free Tool	PIA Consent Form
Typing Club	Typing Club is a web-based touch typing tool for teaching students how to type.	Consent Required	Free Tool School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Bubbl.us	Bubbl.us is a cloud based mind-mapping tool used to help students create visualizations of ideas, organizations and stories.	If students use with no account or if teacher makes account No student information If students make accounts Consent Required	Basic version Free Tool Paid versions available School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Lexia Learning	Lexia Learning Systems LLC provides a suite of web-tools including mobile applications that support students with literacy skill development: Lexia Core5Reading (PreK-5), Lexia PowerUp Literacy (6-12), Lexia English (ESL K-6), MyLexia Mobile App	Usable with Pseudonyms Consent Required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Canva	Canva is a tool for creating designs of all sorts, such as posters, logos, brochures, and other presentation material.	Consent Required	Free Tool	PIA Consent Form
Mathletics	Mathletics is a web tool from 3P Learning that allows students to practice mathematics concepts and compete against each other in challenges.	Consent Required Usable with Pseudonyms	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form Pseudonym Instructions
Brightspace	Brightspace provides a platform for teachers to manage and deliver online courses and is used to support both online and blended (in-person and online) learning, as a cloud-based learning management system (LMS).	Consent Required	School-Based Payment Required	PIA Consent Form
Bridges - HelpKidzLearn Suite	The HelpKidzLearn suite from Bridges-Canada is web-based software that provides adaptive technologies for supporting students with differing needs.	No student information required If not using student photos Consent Required If using student photos as part of choice boards in ChooseIt Maker	District-Paid License Available	PIA Consent Form
MunchaLunch.com	MunchaLunch will be used as part of the Feeding Futures school meals program to provide ways for parents to select meals that would be of interest to their children to avoid dietary concerns.	No student information required If district sets up a MunchaLunch account for Feeding Futures Consent Required If parents sign up for MunchaLunch (granted at signup without consent form needed)	District-Paid License Available	PIA
School Messenger	SchoolMessenger allows SD57 to send out important alerts and updates to parents via SMS or email	Consent Required	District-Paid License Available	PIA Consent Form

SD57 Digital Toolbox