Hanes Art

When the impressionists first started exhibiting, they shocked the world with their bold brushstrokes and compositions and their adventurous use of color. Today, over 150 years later, impressionism is celebrated as an international success story, making artists such as Monet, Renoir, and Degas household names.

This illustrated reference work traces the changing styles in costume and fashion design over 900 years, from the basic, functional dress of the medieval period to the brutality of punk. Its encyclopaedic coverage should benefit historians and theatrical groups as well as students of fashion.

Loaded with full-color illustrations, the Fashions of a Decade set provides an exciting new way for students to learn about modern history. The eight-volume set captures the wildly divergent clothing styles and trends that have played such a crucial role in defining our century. From the gaudy to the austere, from the shocking to the sublime, Fashions of a Decade chronicles the modern world's continual desire to express itself -- and to mold itself -- through fashion. What truly distinguishes this set is its exploration of these trends in the context of Western history. It looks at the dramatic world events, shifting social movements, and fascinating political and cultural movements that influenced the world of twentieth-century fashion.

Loaded with full-color illustrations, the Fashions of a Decade set provides an exciting new way for students to learn about modern history. The eight-volume set captures the wildly divergent clothing styles and trends that have played such a crucial role in defining our century. From the gaudy to the austere, from the shocking to the sublime, Fashions of a Decade chronicles the modern world's continual desire to express itself -- and to mold itself -- through fashion. What truly distinguishes this set is its exploration of these trends in the context of Western history. It looks at the dramatic world events, shifting social movements, and fascinating political and cultural movements that influenced the world of twentieth-century fashion.

Loaded with full-color illustrations, the Fashions of a Decade set provides an exciting new way for students to learn about modern history. The eight-volume set captures the wildly divergent clothing styles and trends that have played such a crucial role in defining our century. From the gaudy to the austere, from the shocking to the sublime, Fashions of a Decade chronicles the modern world's continual desire to express itself -- and to mold itself -- through fashion. What truly distinguishes this set is its exploration of these trends in the context of Western history. It looks at the dramatic world events, shifting social movements, and fascinating political and cultural movements that influenced the world of twentieth-century fashion.

Loaded with full-color illustrations, the Fashions of a Decade set provides an exciting new way for students to learn about modern history. The eight-volume set captures the wildly divergent clothing styles and trends that have played such a crucial role in defining our century. From the gaudy to the austere, from the shocking to the sublime, Fashions of a Decade chronicles the modern world's continual desire to express itself -- and to mold itself -- through fashion. What truly distinguishes this set is its exploration of these trends in the context of Western history. It looks at the dramatic world events, shifting social movements, and fascinating political and cultural movements that influenced the world of twentieth-century fashion.

Though expensive, this is an excellent, beautifully illustrated history of fashion from ancient times to the present.

Clothing often defines the time in which it is worn. This book shows us what people of all classes wore during this momentous period in history. Using primary source images and beautiful illuminated manuscripts, it also details how the idea of being fashionable arose, and the reactions of church authorities to some of these fashions. Written by an internationally recognized expert on medieval and Renaissance dress, this book will fascinate middle school readers.

A History of Fashion and Costume is an eight-volume set that examines the development of costume and fashion over time - from the earliest cave dwellers to the present - along with the social history that gave rise to it. Introducing readers to the rich world of fashion and dress, this set vividly depicts the changing styles, processes, and trends - from the first people to wear clothes in the last Ice Age to the courtly fashion of medieval Europe to the globalization of Western style - that led us to the clothing of today. Describing both the practical uses of clothing and the highly impractical clothes that have been used throughout history to convey social status, these volumes provide a compelling look at the effects of fashion and costume on society. Each accessible volume describes the fashions of the time, styles and designs, and the changing use of materials. Beautiful illustrations and engaging text examine clothing as well as the jewelry, hairstyles, hats, and footwear that accompanied the fashions and made them unique. Special features in each volume include a foreword written by a fashion industry expert as well as a helpful glossary, timeline, and index.

Loaded with full-color illustrations, the Fashions of a Decade set provides an exciting new way for students to learn about modern history. The eight-volume set captures the wildly divergent clothing styles and trends that have played such a crucial role in defining our century. From the gaudy to the austere, from the shocking to the sublime, Fashions of a Decade chronicles the modern world's continual desire to express itself -- and to mold itself -- through fashion. What truly distinguishes this set is its exploration of these trends in the context of Western history. It looks at the dramatic world events, shifting social movements, and fascinating political and cultural movements that influenced the world of twentieth-century fashion.

A fast-paced, lavishly illustrated social history of the world -- explore the day-to-day life of ordinary people from the Stone Age to the turn of the 20th century. It includes the exciting, funny, interesting stories that give an accurate picture of how people lived.

Organized into four principal sections with a scope ranging from the ancient world to the nineteenth century, this illustrated volume offers a detailed accounting of men's and women's clothing, both fashions and formal wear as well as everyday garb.

A History of Fashion and Costume is an eight-volume set that examines the development of costume and fashion over time - from the earliest cave dwellers to the present - along with the social history that gave rise to it. Introducing readers to the rich world of fashion and dress, this set vividly depicts the changing styles, processes, and trends - from the first people to wear clothes in the last Ice Age to the courtly fashion of medieval Europe to the globalization of Western style - that led us to the clothing of today. Describing both the practical uses of clothing and the highly impractical clothes that have been used throughout history to convey social status, these volumes provide a compelling look at the effects of fashion and costume on society. Each accessible volume describes the fashions of the time, styles and designs, and the changing use of materials. Beautiful illustrations and engaging text examine clothing as well as the jewelry, hairstyles, hats, and footwear that accompanied the fashions and made them unique. Special features in each volume include a foreword written by a fashion industry expert as well as a helpful glossary, timeline, and index.

Costume authority Frances Kennett explains how and why certain garments came into being, the construction of the garments, and provides information on the wide variety of materials used in their creation.

The button blanket is eye-catching, prestigious and treasured -- one of the most spectacular embellishments to the Indian culture of the Northwest Coast and a unique form of graphic and narrative art. The traditional crest-style robe is the sister of the totem pole and, like the pole, proclaims hereditary rights, obligations and powers. Unlike the pole, about which countless books and papers have been written, the button blanket has had no chroniclers. This is not only the first major publication to focus on button blankets but also the first oral history about them and their place in the culture of the Northwest Coast. Those interviewed include speakers from six of the seven major Northwest Coast Indian groups. Elders, designers, blanket makers, and historians, each has a voice, but all do not conform to any one theory about the ceremonial robe. Rather, the book is a search for the truth about the historical and contemporary role and traditions of the blanket, as those relate to the past and present Indian way of life on the Pacific Northwest Coast.

From the first fashion style of the Egyptians to the emergence of "haute couture in the 20th century

Before RuPaul's Drag Race propelled the cultural phenomenon into the global spotlight, drag had been around for thousands of years. Immerse yourself in the rich history of drag in this lusciously illustrated guide, brimming with dazzling colors and fabulous facts, all held together with a unique Swiss binding that lets each spread lay flat so that you can experience this book in all its trailblazing glory! The history of drag has been formed by many intersections: fashion, theatre, sexuality and politics--all coming together to create the show stopping entertainment millions witness today. In this extensive work, Jake Hall delves deep into the ancient beginnings of drag, to present day and beyond. Vibrant illustrations enhance the rich history from Kabuki theatre to Shakespearean, the revolutionary Stonewall riots to the still thriving New York ballroom scene. Nothing will go undocumented in this must-have documentation of all things drag.

An overview focussing on church buildings and the works they contain, shows the continuity and evolution of art styles from the early Christian to the late gothic period. Nearly 700 very good illustrations, 73 in color. The text draws heavily from primary sources to provide background and contempora

Presents an introduction to Gothic Art, describing the art movement's basic tenets, how and when it started, and its most significant artists.

Examines the history of the Baroque art period and its influence on seventeenth-century European scientific, religious, political, and social thinking.

A survey of the art and culture of the Norsemen from approximately 800 A.D. to approximately 1100 A.D.

The exciting era known as the Renaissance revolutionized art, as artists broke with the past to embrace new subjects, techniques, and mediums. Painters and sculptors, including Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, and Michelangelo, became famous across Europe, creating iconic works, such as the Mona Lisa and the statue David.