How to Borrow From Indigenous Education Department Collection
If you would like to borrow resources from SD57 Indigenous Education Department, please contact Jessica Brown: email jebrown@sd57.bc.ca or call 250-562-4843 x222
Maps | Indigenous Education Department Collection
These maps were scanned from physical copies held by SD57 Indigenous Education Department. The physical copies are available to borrow. Please do not print the maps from the scanned versions.
-
Map - Central British Columbia (1929)
Scale 15.78 miles to 1 inch -
Map - Stuart Lake (1949)
Scale 3 miles to 1 inch; Pre-Emptor Series
Professional Books Associated with Kits | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Strong Readers Educator Resource Guide
by
The Strong Readers Educator Resource Guide is a supporting guide for the Strong Readers Levels 1 - 20, Set A & B. The Educators Resource Guide is organized in a binder with each section tabbed (373 pages total). The comprehensive guide provides you with the following: Strong Readers Overview; Correlation Chart; Title list; Titles Supporting Specific Areas; Introduction to Guided Reading; Guided Reading Lesson Plan Overview; Guided Reading Lesson Planning; Data Sheet and Thinking Sheets, Levels 1 - 20; Tools to Support Guided Reading Lesson Planning; Coaching Records/Running Records; How to Use the Coaching Records; and Levels 1 - 20. As a team we have put a lot of thought and energy into providing you with the tools that we feel will support your use of the Strong Readers.
ISBN: 9781771741057Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Loose Parts: Inspiring Play in Young Children
by
Use loose parts to spark children's creativity and innovation. Loose parts are natural or synthetic found, bought, or upcycled materials that children can move, manipulate, control, and change within their play. Alluring and captivating, they capture children's curiosity, give free reign to their imagination, and motivate learning. The hundreds of inspiring photographs showcase an array of loose parts in real early childhood settings. And the overviews of concepts children can learn when using loose parts provide the foundation for incorporating loose parts into your teaching to enhance play and empower children. The possibilities are truly endless.
ISBN: 9781605542744Publication Date: 2014-10-28 -
Loose Parts: Learning in K-3 Classrooms
by
Loose parts. You have heard the term, probably in the context of promoting engaging play with open-ended, natural, and manufactured materials that can be manipulated with limitless possibilities. In this book, discover how a loose parts mindset promotes active learning in the early elementary classroom, enhancing curriculum and ensuring connection to state standards. Offering inspiration and guidance on developing, applying, and teaching a loose parts mindset, the authors break down common myths of using loose parts for learning and walk you through getting started in the classroom and on the school grounds. Examine your role as an educator, address safety concerns, and explore how you might evaluate and assess loose parts in the classroom. The inspiring photographs in this book showcase ways to apply the loose parts mindset to science, technology, reading and literacy, engineering, art, and math lessons. Use this book as a smorgasbord of ideas--pick and choose ones that work for you, your students, and your community. None of us is too old for a little loose parts play!
ISBN: 9780876599273Publication Date: 2021-11-01 -
Loose Parts 3: Inspiring Culturally Sustainable Environments
by
Loose parts cross the boundaries of gender, age, abilities, and socioeconomic challenges. Loose Parts 3, the newest addition to the wildly popular Loose Parts series, helps teachers make a conscious effort to create culturally sustainable environments that allow children to grow and to conquer a dynamic world. Over 400 full-color photographs beautifully illustrate the ongoing need for educational pedagogy that creates a sense of belonging supports children's identities is culturally responsive and sustainable Loose Parts 3 contains inspiration and guidance on how to create culturally sensitive and culturally sustainable early childhood environments through six key terms: aesthetic, authenticity, equity, dynamic, praxis, and critical reflection. Use your environment to promote a sense of wonder, curiosity and joy, and allow children to explore their identities.
ISBN: 9781605544663Publication Date: 2018-04-03 -
Loose Parts 4: Inspiring 21st Century Learning
by
Loose parts are natural or synthetic found, bought, or upcycled materials--acorns, hardware, stones, aluminum foil, fabric scraps, for example--that children can move, manipulate, control, and change within their play. Loose parts capture children's curiosity, give free rein to their imagination, and encourage creativity. In the newest installment of the wildly popular, award-winning Loose Parts series, Lisa Daly and Miriam Beloglovsky focus on including families and competency building. With inspiring full-color photographs Loose Parts 4 is organized around competencies and life skills children need for success in the future: knowingness, engagement, risk, connections, leadership, innovative thinking, and creativity. Lisa and Miriam explain the value of loose parts, detail how to integrate loose parts into the environment and children's play, and specifically focus on loose parts for children in family environments--helping educators engage families and extend learning beyond the classroom.
ISBN: 9781605545899Publication Date: 2019-12-10
Level 1 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Fish For Supper
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 1. Many animals fish for their supper. What are some things that animals fish for?
ISBN: 9780987967015Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Frogs
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 1. This book is about frogs. What do you know for sure about frogs?
ISBN: 9780987967046Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Frogs! Frogs! Frogs!
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 1. This book is about counting frogs. Can you count from 1-10?
ISBN: 9780987967022Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
In Went Mouse
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 1. Animals like to make their homes in trees.
ISBN: 9780987967039Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 3 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Baby Bear
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 3. Baby Bear wants to play with some friends. Who do you think will play with Baby Bear?
ISBN: 9781927571019Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Come and Play
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 3. All the animals want Mother Bear to play in the lake. What do you like to do on a hot day?
ISBN: 9781927571002Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Salmon to Share
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 3. Baby Bear likes to share salmon with his friends. Who do you think could be some of Baby Bear’s friends?
ISBN: 9781927571026Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
What Can Bald Eagles Do?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 3. This book is about Bald Eagles. What do you already know for sure about Bald Eagles? What do you think the Bald Eagle is doing on the front cover?
ISBN: 9780987967091Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 5 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
How Do Plants Grow?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 5. This book will show us what plants need so that they can grow. What do you know for sure about plants?
ISBN: 9781927571101Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Just Like Grandma
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 5. The boy and his Grandma have fun when they are together. What do you like to do with a special member of your family?
ISBN: 9781927571095Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Shapes
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 5. This book is about squares, rectangles, triangles and circles. These shapes are all around you.
Can you find them on the cover of this book? Can you name them?
ISBN: 9781927571071Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Who is Missing?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 5. One of the animals in this book has gone missing. It is not on the cover. Do you know who it is?
ISBN: 9781927571088Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 7 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Bear Facts
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 7. What are bears? What do bears look like? Where do bears live? How do bears behave?
ISBN: 9781927571156Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
A Circle of Friends
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 7. There are many things that we do with friends and family. What are some activities that you do with your friends and family?
ISBN: 9781927571187Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
The Little Cedar Tree
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 7. This book is about a tiny seed growing into a Cedar tree. Have you ever planted a seed? What do you know for sure about seeds?
ISBN: 9781927571163Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
We Sleep, We Eat
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 7. This is a poem about Green Frog, Bald Eagle, Black Bear and Black Raven. They all have special places they like to sleep and special foods they like to eat. What do you think they like to eat?
ISBN: 9781927571170Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 9 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Bannock Surprise
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 9. This poem is about making bannock. Do you know what bannock is? Who do you think the surprise is for?
ISBN: 9781927571262Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Fun With Father
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 9. Father and the children are going to the beach. What are some of the things that you predict the children will enjoy doing with Father while at the beach?
ISBN: 9781927571255Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Raven Facts
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 9. Ravens have shiny black feathers. They have sharp curved beaks. Ravens live in many places in the world.
ISBN: 9781927571248Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Reading Together
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 9. Raven and Frog find a book under a Cedar tree. They love to read together. Where are some places that they might read together at?
ISBN: 9781927571231Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 11 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Counting Insects
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 11. This book is about counting insects in groups of 5. Can you count from 0-50 by 5’s?
ISBN: 9781771740111Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Life Cycle of a Frog
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 11. There are over 5000 kinds of frogs in the world. Frogs are many different sizes and colours. What do you think is the same about all frogs?
ISBN: 9781771740135Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Making a Paper Pond
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 11. Ponds are great places to visit in the spring time. This book shows you how to make a model of a pond with just a few simple tools and some paper.
ISBN: 9781771740128Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Many Things I Can Do
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 11. We make choices every day. There are all kinds of choices that we can make. Some choices we make work well for ourselves and others. Some choices we make don’t work well for ourselves and others. What is one choice that you have made today?
ISBN: 9781771740142Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 13 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Bald Eagles
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 13. Bald Eagles are large birds of prey. They usually live near rivers, lakes and oceans so that they can fish and hunt for food. They can easily spot salmon, crabs, small birds and other animals from two kilometres away.
How do you think they catch their food?
ISBN: 9781771740197Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Fall is Here!
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 13. Fall is the season between summer and winter. The months of fall are September, October and November. What are some activities that you and your family do during the fall months?
ISBN: 9781771740203Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Go Out and Play
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 13. This story is about going out to play even when it seems like the weather is bad. What things do you like to do when you are playing outside? Can you think of a time that you had fun even though the weather was bad?
ISBN: 9781771740210Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Squirrel Learns to Count
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 13. Deciduous trees drop their leaves every fall. This book teaches a little squirrel to count the leaves of 6 different deciduous trees. Do any of the trees in your neighbourhood lose their leaves in the fall?
ISBN: 9781771740227Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 15 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Food Chains
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 15. All plants and animals need food to live, grow and stay healthy. Plants and animals that are linked by taking or giving food are part of a food chain. What are some of the plants and animals that you and your family eat?
ISBN: 9781771740272Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Old Cedar Tree
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 15. This book is about an old cedar tree that grows deep in the forest. Have you ever walked in a forest? What do you think you would see in the forest?
ISBN: 9781771740302Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Pine Forest Pond Music
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 15. One moonlit night, the animals of Pine Forest Pond were singing. Owl noticed that the youngest member of each family was sad. They were having trouble making all the sounds in the song. Do you think Owl can help his young friends? How do you feel when you try something that is difficult?
ISBN: 9781771740289Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Spring Has Come!
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 15. Spring is the season between winter and summer. The months of spring are March, April and May. What are some activities that you and your family do during the spring months?
ISBN: 9781771740296Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 17 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Busy Chipmunks
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 17. If you have ever watched chipmunks you may have noticed that they are always busy. Chipmunks need to prepare for the winter. What do you think a chipmunk must do to be ready for a cold winter? Chipmunks have pouches made of stretchy skin. Can you imagine having pouches like a chipmunk? What would that look like?
ISBN: 9781771740357Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Hummingbirds
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 17. Hummingbirds are truly amazing birds. They can fly up, down, forward, backward and sideways! They can also stop in midair. They are the only bird that can fly backwards. Have you ever seen a hummingbird? What did you notice about the hummingbird you saw?
ISBN: 9781771740364Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
I Wonder
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 17. Have you ever looked at a spider’s web and wondered how the spider knew how to make such a beautiful web? It is fun to ask questions. What are some of the things that you wonder about? Discovering the answers to questions can be a lot of fun too!
ISBN: 9781771740371Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Planning the Feast
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 17. Soon there will be a big summer feast at Pine Forest. Raven is ready with lots of plans. What are some of the things that might need to be done before the summer feast? Do you predict Raven will be a good planner?
ISBN: 9781771740388Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 19 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Letters to Owl
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 19. All the animals are getting ready for a Summer Feast. Some of the animals are having a hard time getting all the work completed. Owl is famous for helping his friends solve problems. The animals write Owl letters asking for help. Can you predict some of the problems that Owl helps solve? How do you solve problems?
ISBN: 9781771740432Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Loons are Amazing!
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 19. A young boy liked loons so much that he made a list of the top ten best things about loons. The boy knows about loons’ appearance, behaviour and other interesting facts. What facts do you think he will write about? Explain your thinking.
ISBN: 9781771740449Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
We Greet the Four Animals
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 19. The Medicine Wheel is a guide to living a healthy life. People use it all around the world. There are four parts to the Medicine Wheel that teach us many different things. We learn from everything that is around us! We begin our teachings in the direction that the sun rises, to the east. We learn from the gifts that the four animals provide us with. What do you already know about the four animals?
ISBN: 9781771740463Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Western Red Cedar
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 19. Western Red Cedar trees grow in the shady forests of the Pacific Northwest Coast. They can grow very large (up to 70 metres) and live to a great age (there are trees that are estimated to be 1,000 years old). What do you already know about the Western Red Cedar tree?
ISBN: 9781771740456Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Other Kits | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
[Kit] 3-Letter-Word Puzzles Bin Contents: 14 3-letter-word puzzles (axe, bat, bee, bow, bug, cub, den, dog, fox, log, pig, pot, sky, sun)
-
[Kit] Cardboard Weaving Looms Bin Contents: 16 large weaving boards, 15 medium weaving boards (thinner), 53 small weaving boards (1/3rd size)
-
[Kit] Felt Stories Bin Pond Play Mat (1 copy): Circular blue felt play mat, 5 felt lily pads, 2 felt grasses, 1 pink felt flower, 1 log -- Caribou, Caribou, What Do You See? (2 copies): 1 felt turtle, 1 felt grey wolf, 1 felt beaver, 1 felt bald eagle, 1 felt brown bear, 1 felt bull moose, 1 felt bison, 1 felt white-tailed buck, 1 laminated card
-
[Kit] GRIMM'S Large Creative Puzzle Octagon Box Contents in box: 72 triangle blocks, octagonal tray, instructions; Product number: 43280
-
[Kit] Joan & Clifford Puppet Clothes Bin Contents: 1 pair of khaki cargo pants, 1 brown polyester collared jacket, 1 black hat with embroidered Lheidli T'enneh logo, 1 pair red slip-on shoes, 1 black tie with white spots and hexagon weave, 1 pair white socks with pink soles and trim, 1 pair white socks, 1 blue-green-purple plaid collared shirt with short sleeves, 1 pink-green plaid dress with short sleeves, 1 dark gray T-shirt with pale pink butterflies and flowers, 1 pink button-up cardigan, 1 sleeveless brown corduroy dress with embroidered flowers, 1 pair of black leggings with black lace at hems, 1 sleeveless dark blue cotton dress with embroidered dots, 1 red tie with navy and silver diagonal stripes, 1 pair of dark blue socks with grips on soles, 1 pair of white socks with dark blue soles and ribbons, 1 sheer cream scarf with solid white stripes, 1 ball of dark gray yarn, 1 dark blue and silver Puma mini-backpack with neon green zipper
-
[Kit] Loose Parts Bins (3 Copies) Contents: wooden people, ceramic leaf tiles, polished glass gemstones; 1 copy also has buttons
-
[Kit] Toy Bin Contents: GRIMM's Large Rainbow, GRIMM'S Earth, 1 toy bald eagle, 1 toy lynx, 1 polar bear, 1 toy white-tailed buck, 1 toy white-tailed doe, 1 toy grizzly bear, 1 toy wolf, 1 toy fox, 1 toy bull moose
Level 2 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Growing Up
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 2. Why do you think a tree is a good home for some animals?
ISBN: 9780987967084Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Hello Spring!
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 2. The animals notice that spring is here so they tell Bear. How do we know when it is spring time?
ISBN: 9780987967060Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
In the Pond
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 2. Frog can go up and down. Frog can be in the front. Frog can be in the back. What else can Frog do?
ISBN: 9780987967077Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
What Can Bears Do?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 2. This book is about bears. What do you know for sure about bears?
ISBN: 9780987967053Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 4 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Are You Hungry, Little Bear?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 4. Mother Bear asks Little Bear what he would like to eat. What do you think Little Bear would like to eat?
ISBN: 9781927571057Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Black Raven
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 4. Ravens like shiny things. What do you think Black Raven might find in the forest?
ISBN: 9781927571064Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Hands and Feet
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 4. Feet and hands help us do many things. Can you name some of the activities that you can do with your hands? Can you name some of the activities that you can do with your feet?
ISBN: 9781927571040Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
What Can Ravens Do?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 4. This book is about ravens. What do you already know for sure about ravens? What are some of the things that ravens can do?
ISBN: 9781927571033Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 6 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Crossing the River
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 6. This story is about counting bears who want to cross the river. You will be counting by two’s. Can you count by two’s from 0 to 12?
ISBN: 9781927571118Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Frog Can Do Many Things
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 6. Frog can do many things. Frog wants to fly. Do you think Frog will ever learn to fly?
ISBN: 9781927571149Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Frog Facts
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 6. This book is about frogs. There are many different kinds of frogs. What do you know for sure about frogs?
ISBN: 9781927571125Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
On Our Hike
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 6. This is a story about going on a hike in the forest. What are some of the animals that you might see on a hike in the forest?
ISBN: 9781927571132Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 8 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Bald Eagle Facts
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 8. Bald Eagles have white feathers on their heads and tails. They have dark brown feathers on the rest of their bodies. They have sharp curved beaks. What else do you know for sure about Bald Eagles?
ISBN: 9781927571200Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Clever Raven
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 8. Raven likes to eat a lot of clams so he makes a plan to get some! What kind of plan do you think Raven will make?
ISBN: 9781927571224Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
The Eagle Family
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 8. This story is about a family of Bald Eagles. Who do you think sits on the nest and hatches the eggs? Who do you think feeds the eaglets?
ISBN: 9781927571194Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Where is Frog's Home?
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 8. Frog is looking for his home. Where is a good home for Frog? Can Frog live on land and in the water?
ISBN: 9781927571217Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 10 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Animal Puzzles
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 10. You know a lot about frogs, bears, eagles and ravens. Can you use what you know to solve the puzzles in this book?
ISBN: 9781927571279Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Let's Go for a Paddle
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 10. The animals decide to go for a paddle in their canoe. Suddenly fog rolls in and the animals are worried. What do you know for sure about fog?
ISBN: 9781927571286Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Raven Makes a Plan
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 10. Raven and Eagle are expecting visitors. What are some of the things that you predict Raven and Eagle will do to get ready for their visitors?
ISBN: 9781927571293Publication Date: 2012-01-01 -
Seasons
by
Strong Readers Set A Level 10. There are four seasons during a year, winter, spring, summer and fall. Which season do you think it is on the cover of this book? Which season is it outside right now?
ISBN: 9781927571309Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Level 12 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Bears
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 12. There are thousands of bears in North America. Most of them are black bears but there are grizzlies and Spirit Bears too (a rare kind of black bear that has white fur).
ISBN: 9781771740159Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
My Five Senses
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 12. Our body has five senses that are working all the time. Our five senses help us to see, hear, smell, taste and touch many things.
ISBN: 9781771740166Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Summertime
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 12. Summer is the season between spring and fall. The months of summer are June, July and August. What are some activities that you and your family do during the summer months?
ISBN: 9781771740173Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Who is the Forest for?
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 12. Grandmother and Grandson go for a walk in the forest on a sunny day. Grandson wonders who the forest is for. As they walk they listen and watch. What do you think they will discover as they walk through the forest?
ISBN: 9781771740180Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 14 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
The Forest Adventures
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 14. Your five senses can help you learn about the world. You can see, hear, smell, taste and touch many things. When you are out in the forest, what are some things that you might sense?
ISBN: 9781771740258Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Leaf Rubbings
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 14. Leaves come in many interesting shapes and sizes. Have you ever used leaf shapes in an art or craft project? This book shows you one way to use paper, leaves and wax crayons to make colourful designs.
ISBN: 9781771740234Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Ravens
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 14. Ravens are large black birds that live all over North America and in many other parts of the world. They are playful birds that have been seen to tease dogs and wolves just for fun. They also love to twirl about in the air and fly in big loops. Do you know of any other animals that like to play?
ISBN: 9781771740241Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Wintertime
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 14. Winter is the season between fall and spring. The months of winter are December, January and February. What are some activities that you and your family do during the winter months?
ISBN: 9781771740265Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 16 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Making a Folded Paper Bear
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 16. In this book you will learn how to make a folded paper bear. You will need to read and follow the directions very carefully. Can you think of a time when you have had to follow directions to make something?
ISBN: 9781771740319Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Play Days
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 16. Little Bear and Red Squirrel usually have fun playing together. One week, almost everything went wrong! Do you think that some games are safer than others? What games do you predict Little Bear and Red Squirrel will play that will be safe and fun? What do you do to make sure you are safe when you are playing?
ISBN: 9781771740326Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Sandwich Mystery
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 16. Little Bear decides to visit Red Squirrel who lives in Pine Forest. He prepares a tasty lunch for them but one of the sandwiches he made has disappeared. How do you think a sandwich could disappear?
ISBN: 9781771740333Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
We Go for a Hike
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 16. This is a story about going for a hike in the forest. What are some things that you would need to bring with you? What are some animals that you might see?
ISBN: 9781771740340Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 18 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
An Egg Count
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 18. There are over 8,500 species of birds in the world. They vary in size and appearance from the tiniest hummingbird to the largest ostrich. Birds live in many different habitats and temperature zones. Egg laying is one thing that all birds have in common. This book will show you the nests and eggs of 6 different birds. Have you seen any birds’ nests in your neighbourhood? This book will give you some counting practise. Can you count to one hundred by tens?
ISBN: 9781771740395Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Pine Forest Cookbook
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 18. Little Bear and Red Squirrel like thinking of new recipes for the Pine Forest Cookbook. What information must be included in a recipe? Do you have a favourite recipe?
ISBN: 9781771740418Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
That Reminds Me
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 18. When we hear or see something, we are often reminded of something else.
Our brain can quickly move from one memory to another. This is making a connection. When you look at the cover of this book does it remind you of anything?
ISBN: 9781771740401Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Tide Pools
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 18. Tide pools can be found along rocky sea shores. The tiny pools contain animals and plant life. Raven, his animal friends, Grandmother and her grandchildren like to explore the tide pools. What do you think they will find?
ISBN: 9781771740425Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Level 20 Books in Strong Readers Kit | Indigenous Education Department Collection
-
Cedar: The Tree of Life
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 20. The Western Red Cedar tree is sometimes called The Tree of Life. This book explains some of the ways that the cedar is useful to the people of the Pacific Northwest Coast. What do you already know about the Western Red Cedar?
ISBN: 9781771740470Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
The Pine Forest Community
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 20. Raven likes to make plans for his animal friends. He has decided that his community should be strong. He asks all his animal friends to come to a Talking Circle. Each animal is asked to bring an idea about how they can help make their community strong. What ideas do you predict the animals will bring to the Talking Circle?
ISBN: 9781771740494Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
Pine Forest News
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 20. People learn about important information and events when they read a newspaper. All the animals in Pine Forest like to read news stories. Can you predict some of the stories that the animal reporters might write for the Pine Forest News?
ISBN: 9781771740487Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
We Greet the Four Seasons
by
Strong Readers Set B Level 20. The Medicine Wheel is a guide to living a healthy life. People use it all around the world. There are four parts to the Medicine Wheel that teach us many different things. We learn from everything that is around us! We begin our teachings in the direction that the sun rises, to the east. We learn from the gifts that the four seasons provide us with.
ISBN: 9781771740500Publication Date: 2013-01-01
