Skip to main content

Welcome to the Duchess Park Library Learning Commons: Front Page News

What Does The Library Learning Commons Mean To You? Created By The Students And Staff Of Duchess Park Secondary School!! Go! Condors! Go!

Teacher-Librarian

Cheryl Doucet's picture
Cheryl Doucet
Contact:
Cheryl Doucet
Teacher-Librarian
Duchess Park Secondary School
747 Winnipeg Ave
Prince George, BC
V2L 2V3

Teacher-Librarian

                      C. Shimoyama                                      Teacher-Librarian              cshimoyama@sd57.bc.ca

DPSS Library Learning Commons

Hours:

 Monday-Thursday        8:15 - 3:45

Friday                             8:15 - 3:30

Staff:

Mrs. C. Doucet    Teacher-Librarian

Ms. C. Shimoyama   Teacher-Librarian

Mrs. A. Wiebe        Library Clerk

 

Practice Provincial Exams

        Image result for provincial exams 

                                   Provincial Exams

Bibliography Makers

 Purdue University is one of the best sources for citations as it is updated with the most current Bibliographic information.                                                                                 

Citation and Bibliography Managers exist to make our lives simpler.  Try the ones listed below, but as always, you need to be the ultimate authority on your work.  Review all imported citations and bibliographies to make sure they meet the requirements for formatting as required by the style requested by your teacher.

 

KnightCite

EasyBib and KnightCite are free bibliography creators.  You can sign up for a free account to save and work on your bibliographies.

Citation Machine and BibMe are not free if you want to set up an account, but you can use them for free if you have all your citations and wish to build a bibliography all at once. 

Books

      Citation Machine    

Image result for bibme 

Bibme

 

                              

Cite it Right- MLA Style

Click on the Cite it Right image to be directed to full, clear version of the poster.

Congratulations to our FanCon ticket Winners!!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR WINNERS!!!

   

 

    

Spring Has Sprung...Our Poetry Contest Winners!!!

Spring Has Sprung, The Grass Has Ris...

Here are this year's winners:

                        Olivia Masich                                             Emily Mann

  

Spring Is In The Books

Be the Reason!!!

Search the DPSS Library Learning Commons Catalogue Here

Search the District Learning Commons Website and Resources

Access ALL the DLC's databases through the above link. 

Click on the icons below to access these databases.

  

The World Book Online Databases are a great place to begin your research.  Don't forget to check out the links at the end of some of the articles. They will lead you to other relevant and interesting information.

 

CultureGrams helps researchers discover the world with concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Canada in Context spans the North American continent to deliver a full range of country-specific topics

Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

 


 

 

Saving and Accessing your Work

Click on the OpenWebmail icon  to access your Duchess Park email from home. Login as you would at school.

Click on the WebDisk button   to access your Samba "H" drive saved work.

The first time you access this site, you will have to follow the prompts to save your email preferences.  The first page you are directed to is "Welcome to OpenWebmail".  Click "continue".  The second page is "User Preferences". Click "save".  The last page is "Preferences Saved". Click "continue". You will not see these prompts again when you login.

Click on the Word document below to see full instructions for accessing,downloading and uploading your work.

Homework Help

2017-2018 School District Calendar