We have two new Indigenous professional books that are hot reads right now across BC.
The Serviceberry is the newest book from acclaimed author Robin Wall Kimmerer who wrote Braiding Sweetgrass.
Re-Storying Education: Decolonizing Your Practice Using a Critical Lens by Carolyn Roberts is currently being done as a novel study by many districts in BC as part of a commitment to Truth and Reconciliation.
Joseph Jeffery
New Music Resource Guide:
https://sd57.libguides.com/dlc/music
Find out what we have for music resources, access MusicPlayOnline, search choral music and get into the Indigenous Music Through the Seasonal Rounds project.
Welcome to Drumbeat Decodable Book Collection. K-2 Short Vowels a,e,i,o, and u. Teach children short vowels in the context of cvc (consonant-vowel-consonant) words in the high-frequency and fun Indigenous Decodable Books. This set of 5 Decodable Books provides the systematic practice children need to become phonics-wise readers. These stories bring an Indigenous content that is much needed in any phonics program. Each book contains a word list, high-frequency words, story words, short vowel words, and two fun activities for extended learning.
All books written by Sandra Samatte, Ojibwe - Saulteaux - from Skownan First Nation Treaty 2 Territory. Design by Julian Grafenauer.
With our innovative STEM lab, students really become part of the scientific process—as they explore potential & kinetic energy, how angles affect motion, ...then design, build & evaluate their own roller coasters! Designed to integrate STEM education into daily instruction, the project-based lab includes step-by-step activities that students complete in order—culminating in an in-depth engineering activity that really brings concepts to life. Students simply work through each activity with partners...and build the critical-thinking and problem-solving skills they'll need for success in the future! Lab comes with all the materials students need to complete 4 activities—from measuring angles to building a marble ramp!
With 6 rectangular chutes, 2 chutes with holes, and 4 corner sections, there are an endless number of team activity possibilities. Each rectangular section has 4 handles and the edges of the chutes have hook and loop fasteners all around the top and bottom, allowing them to be connected to one another. Connect them lengthwise to create a long "runway" to transfer objects from one end to another, add holes to increase the challenge or roll the chutes to form tubes to hide the pathway. Connect them in a grid to form a rectangular parachute. When not connected, 2 to 4 players can use the chutes to throw balls from one team to another or play Chute Team volleyball. The rectangular sections can also be "rolled" to form tubes or a single long tube. Includes 6 large colored rectangular sections measuring 42" x 30", 2 black sections with holes that are 30" x 30" and 4 black corner sections that are 30" x 30".
Ramps provide endless learning opportunities! As children participate in simple investigations, they exercise critical thinking and key processing skills such as observing, predicting, comparing, and analyzing.
Explore shapes around the classroom or outside. What shapes will you find?
This updated kit includes books to learn about colours around you and colour lenses and prisms to examine things in different colours.
The books in this use sight words to help enhance early learning.
This updated kit includes books and new magnetic blocks to play offline as well as online.
Minecraft is more than just a simple video game. It is also a creative tool that allows players to build and explore their own virtual worlds. Though there is a lot to learn and discover about Minecraft, these guides will turn you into an expert in no time.
Interested in cooking with your class?
This kit includes the equipment needed to make soups . CAUTION: The kit includes knives that require adult supervision when being used. The soup making process deals with hot liquid. Adult supervision is necessary to avoid injuries in the preparation and cooking process.