Snow
Learning Intention: Have a better idea what tool to use to help you find information
Understand what the Deep Web is and how your school provides access
Help I've got to research and don't know where to start
Think of the internet like an iceberg. What you see on the surface through search engines like Google is only a tiny fraction of the size. Most of it lies hidden below the surface in the deep web. The deep web isn't searchable by a regular search engine because the content is behind paywalls, which require you to fork over money to get access to the content. Thankfully the PGSS Libr@ry is here to help!
We subscribe to e-resources that give you access to some of that content. So now you know they exist let's talk about how to pick the right one and where to find them.
Types of Research Tools
Part of knowing where to start is picking the right tool for the job.
| Type of Tool | Examples of the Tool | Uses |
| Encylopedia |
Wikipedia World Book |
An encyclopedia contains general knowledge information about a topic. It gives you information that is easy to access in a convenient location It gives you a broad view of the topic but not a deep one. |
| Web Portals |
GALE Science in Context GALE Current Affairs in Context GALE GREENR |
Web portals are curated websites that pull together articles from other sources on particular topics. The articles may or may not be relevant to your specific question / statement but will be on that topic. They provide accurate content. The articles linked may be factual or opinion. |
| Databases |
Explora
|
A database contains many articles from different sources. It has not been curated. The articles must be searched for so you can specify what you want to find. Articles may be scientific or contain data as well as news reporting. |
| Video Libraries |
Curio Learn360 Heritage Minutes
|
Contains videos on particular subjects Videos are curated or made by the source Visual/Auditory way to get information
|
Where to find the tools
Does your assignment have a LibGuide? If it does there's probably links to suitable tools on there.
If not use the research tools for your subject area on the main LibGuides page. We subscribe to databases and other tools that help you get the facts.
There is also the DLC website which has an "E-resources" section
PGSS - Library Learning Commons, Prince George, BC, Canada V2M 2S7 - We are located on the traditional, unceded territory, of the Lheidli T'enneh.
